Scraplets

Oh my gosh – how exciting – as part of my DT duties for 123 this month I got to help design a couple of new Scraplets items. I say help – since Julie from Scraplets took a couple of ideas I had and made them up. But I am so rapt with the way they turned out – all that I had hoped for.

The first of them is a hearts frame and the word ‘Smitten’. I asked Julie to use an existing font they have that I like and to put little hearts onto some of the letters. Then some hearts twined up the side of a frame was the matching piece. I used this on my sketch layout – since this month was my turn to do the sketch. It’s the first time I have ever done a sketch – so it will be interesting to see what – if anything – people do with it. I used the lovely pinky-purple and green “Be Mine” range from Kaiser for this – have wanted to cut out all those hearts ever since I saw them.

smitten - the right size

Had a couple of heart-stopping moments getting it all done – woke up one morning to find the Kindyglitz had changed the colour of the ink on the frame and title completely – from dusky pinky-purple to bright pink. Ouch!! Had to sand it all back and re-ink and glitz it. But using the Kaiser pearls was cool – the new colours are just gorgeous. Love the brads too.

Smitten closeup

I hid all the journalling behind a hand-made heart embellishment. Cut out heaps of the little hearts from the pp and stuck them on a larger heart to make a little card. Popped the journalling and a little photo inside and tied it all up with ribbon. Got the idea from a cardmaking magazine – though I altered it somewhat to suit what I had in mind.

smitten journalling card

The other Scraplets idea I had is intended for the boys. I can only give a sneek peak, as I need to get a second title and re-paint that too. Not my weekend for inking – believe me. But the boys adore the idea – although DS2 is not so happy with the comments about him on the layout. Lol

Caution closeup

Again using Kaiser pp – love the recent ranges – actually, love most of their stuff. The new brads are just glorious. Lots of cutting out again on this one too – my poor fingers.

caution sneek no 2

So I will leave you with these – will upload the whole layout when I get the new Scraplets. The 2 kits I have played with here are exclusive to 123 – so come check them out and see what else Julie has in her extensive and gorgeous range of chippie items.

One Response

  1. Love what you have done with the KC Grunge Papers
    NOt having boys myself I love seeing what everyone else does with it.
    Lissy

Leave a Reply

