more Bo Bunny

Since I am home sick with the flu (thanks DS1), it might be a good idea to put in a few updates from the past week.

So loving the Bo Bunny “Ella Enchanted” paper range still. Very pretty and girly to use.

I want to thank Kars and Monica for a great scrapping get-together night where I got the bones of this layout done – whilst we had a great night chatting away – nothing like scrapping with friends.

For the second of the three I am doing with this range for Click”n”Scrap I wanted to use the glorious ornate pattern on the paper – feature it and make the most of it. I think sometimes people hide these gorgeous patterns because they are too complex and intricate and you miss a lot of them when people stick ‘stuff’ all over them.

Yeah yeah – I know I have stuck ‘stuff’ all over my patterned paper too – but I have tried to highlight and focus on the patterns as well. I’ve used kindyglitz to ‘pick out’ the pattern and I also used some of those gorgeous black Kaisercraft pearls to do the same thing. I cut around the pattern at the bottom of the paper to give it a nice ‘die cut’ edge look that features the pattern. The black glittery stuff is loose glitter powder – love that stuff and my lss is the only place I have ever found it in – little pots of glitter. Very yummy.

With complex and intricate patterns, it is often better to keep the colours used to just one or two – otherwise it becomes too ‘busy’. So I have kept this layout to just the one patterned paper and 3 colours: a sort of pinky-red as the dominant colour; black as the contrasting colour and a small touch of pale pink in the patterned paper.

The patterned paper takes up about 2/3’s of the layout – leaving 1/3 plain cardstock. I overlaid the photo onto the paper to further reduce the amount showing and placed a matching flower (Prima – Eire 2) to do the same. Too much of the pattern showing can be a little overwhelming. A little kindyglitz to the edges of the flower really makes it sparkle. I also added a small Buzz and Bloom chipboard heart to give me somewhere for journalling.

I kept the title plain (and pretty much the same colour as the paper), but featured it by placing a contrasting (black) set of rubons behind it. These rubons have the same ornate pattern style as the paper – making them a great match. Love love love the rubons – saw them ages ago and totally forgot about them until now. The title is the ‘love and kisses’ alphas by Buzz & Bloom.

The photo is black and white, to keep with the colour theme. I’ve bordered it with some velvet ric rac and some to-die-for black gemstone flourishes and borders. These are Prima ones (see the store as they are currently on special) – as is the centre of the flower. They complement the Kaiser pearls well and add to the lush, ornate feel of the layout.

So here is the full layout. Just adore that photo of Madame – she looks so grownup there. Not my baby anymore. Sigh – the years go too fast sometimes. 2-3 is one of those ages where you just want to freeze them – hold them there until you are ready for them to grow up a little more. But then maybe we would never be ready for them to grow up??

One Response

  1. This is gorgeous, love all the bling.

Leave a Reply

