TSE October cc – Thankfulness

Tonight is our October cc starting night – would love for you all to come and join us for the fun and games. Oh – and the scrapping too. The theme is thankfulness.

For my challenge I scrapped a page about Madame’s birth. Although everything seemed fine – when she was born the cord was wrapped around her neck and she was not breathing. It took some quick work by the midwife and obstetrician to get her breathing and on the road to good health. She spent the first hour or so of her life in a plastic box warming up and getting used to life on the outside. We were/are so very thankful to these special people in helping her to live – so this is a page where I express that thankfulness.

I used Bo Bunny – Beautiful Life – a very simple layout really. With such a busy paper there was no place for lots of embellishments. And it is BRIGHT. More than I thought it would be – but I love the colour combination.

It’s very simple – just a bit of one page layered over another. I’ve distressed the edges of the photo and the base sheet of patterned paper – using the wide file from my BG file set. Have not done that before and was very impressed with the effect. I put the paper on the edge of my desk – and by moving where the paper was I could also get some distressed lines on the paper too (see top right hand corner). I also tore the photo matt paper as well – to give a nice distressed look to that. I cut some of the leaves in the paper so I could ‘fit’ the photo into place. The stitching you can see uses the metallic thread that I love the look of – gold this time – but hate to use. Sadly, there is nothing thankful about using that.

My title is a chippy one – can’t remember who by – but I think it might be Scrap FX (if not – then Scraplets). It was painted with gold paint (Kaiser – a lovely soft gold) and then I added a layer of the new gold Mod Podge.

I have also used a Scraplets set of Dragonflies (comes in a set of 2 lots of 2 – one big and one small). I painted them with a couple of shades of glimmermist and then traced around the edges with a Signo gold gel pen. It was a little too muted – so I put a very light layer of kindyglitz over the top of that.

Bo Bunny have a great concept in the ‘tags’ page. I loved the one for this range, as it gave me the idea to use it for this page in the first place. The theme is family and thankfulness – so it was easy to find a suitable tag for my page. Again – I distressed the edges – and simply slipped one edge under the paper matting the photo. Too easy.

Of course to finish it all off I HAD to put a little Kindyglitz (Crystalina) on a few of the leaves.

So here tis – my cc layout. The criteria are: stitching, distressing and a chippy embellishment. I would love for you to visit the TSE cc and have a go.

One Response

  1. This is really beautiful and has such a soft feel to it – I love all those glittered details… stunning!!!
    Aga xx

Leave a Reply

