Dragonfly Dreams (Kaiser Dancing Jewel)

Love love love this paper range. Reminds me of the butterfly one they did a few months back now. Lovely colours and paper design. I knew just what I wanted to do with it too. Besides cutting the photo into the paper pattern, I wanted to use some dragonfly chippies that Julie from A2Z Scraplets designed to go with the range for me. My new toy – my embossing stuff – was also something I wanted to play with.

I’ve only ever done heat embossing once in a class at my lss. Love the textured look though – so I thought I would try some for myself. I’m actually really taken with the look and hope to use it more on future layouts. It is awesome for chippy alphas. Here I have used a flourish stamp (Kaiser – Flora and Fauna) to make the pattern and then embossed it using gold embossing powder.

Because the whole embossing look is very lush and rich looking and the pattern I used for embossing was fairly ornate – I left the rest of the layout pretty simple. The two rectangles of patterned paper are there to “fill in” the empty space in the pattern on the base paper – and to provide some “colour”.

My usual “cutting in” to make the layers of paper blend in together and of course some Kindyglitz to highlight those gorgeous leaves and dragonflies.

20081205_img_0737closeup_1

I also finally got to use some of the gorgeous Prima flowers that have been burning a hole in my stash – as well as the brads that go with this range.

20081205_img_0743_1

I’ve not journalled – fitting any in was an issue and I am not sure that it needs it. There will be another layout with photos taken at that time that will explain more about the “moment”. (Her top is a pretty pink dragonfly pattern on light green and she is very taken with it – she was just having a little nap on the lounge chair whilst wearing it – and the little smile on her face whilst she was sleeping suggested a happy dream – hence the title.)

The paper range I’ve used is the simply divine “Dancing Jewels” from Kaisercraft – love the soft pinks, greens and mauves. Very yummy. If you are quick you can get in before Wilma sells out of them again.

20081205_img_0740dgagonflydreams_1

Leave a Reply

