Sakura Park

Okay – so here is the latest in the challenge layouts. It uses yet another lovely paper range that has been sitting sad and neglected in my stash. For a red/black/white/grey combination, Kaiser’s Sakura Park range is very bold and striking, yet also very girly. I had a couple of outfits in mind for using with this range – but the criteria for this challenge meant a change in plan.

This time there needed to be: the colour red, chippy alphas and a chippy shape, no stamping, something had to be shiny and it needed to relate to New Year’s somehow. Bummer – we don’t generally take photos of that time! By some awsome chance though, I had actually taken some on New Year’s Day – Madame and us enjoying the pool at the camping park at Tweed Heads. Whoo Hoo.

The photos had to be black and white – since her lovely pink and white polka dot bathers were a bit of a clash with the red, but I think that worked in well with the papers anyway. And time for a multi-photo layout – it’s been awhile since I did one and I promised myself more of them this year.

I went simple this time – the paper is fussy and the colours strong – so less is more!! I love the Kaiser brads that match their paper ranges – so this was a good chance to use them. Another raid of my stash (the moths are very upset this past week) and I found some chippy hearts-in-a-circle thingie that I could use, as well as some Bella scroll glitter paper. And back to the old favourites – Heidi Swapp’s She alphas. I also pulled out the ancient “Dimensional Magic” bottle – something I have rarely used.

It’s simple – but I like it. No strain on the old mojo for this one – I think the pressure of the time factor in this comp is getting to me. You only have 24 hrs from the time the criteria are given – and my idea of speed scrapping is 2/3 days – not 24 hours.

I really like the way the chippy heart turned out – I split it into the 3 parts and ‘glized one of them and DM’ed the other two. Way cool. The red flowers are new too (you need to check out here for them) and I really like their shape.

20090108_img_1492_1

It was such a lazy, lovely day – I love the look of total bliss on her face. She just loves swimming. She takes a lesson once a week at kindy and loves it to death.

The final layout.

20090108_img_1489swim_1

Both Mary (TSE) and Wilma (123) have this range in stock – so be sure to check the links out and grab some for yourself.

One Response

  1. Gorgeous Ngaire! I also have Tea and Silk and still haven’t used it LOL….;

    I have left you a little something on my blog so go check it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

