3 Bugs – Color me Pink (and very very bright!)

Wowzer – them there’s bright colours 3 Bugs are putting out these days. Not sure what I let myself in for when I offered to work with this range this month. Not my usual papers at all.

I have to admit though that these Colour me Pink papers from 3 Bugs in a Rug are just perfect as page embellishments and journalling tags. And since we are all looking for ways to cut down on our scrapping expenses these days – it makes sense to make more of our own embellishments using the patterned papers.

For this layout I’ve cut out various bits and pieces from several papers (Sassy and Blush), which I then overlaid upon 3 strips of Princess and Stripe papers. Rather than run them the full length of the page I cut strips – waste not want not. To make the most of the paper I have also cut out some patterned sections of paper that are overlaid by the photo.

To make the page more interesting, the embellishments have been layered – and by using pop-dots and double-sided tape I have given dimension to the layout. I also Kindyglitzed sections of the pattern to add further interest and stitched a row across the bottom to repeat the ‘stitching’ on the patterned paper.

20090123_img_1727_1

Using the paper in this way made the basic layout very cheap – allowing me to splurge on a lovely chippy – which matched perfectly the cherry pattern on the paper. These Twiddleybits cherry chippies come 2 to a pack and are an economical (and pretty) addition to your page. I’ve also used the gorgeous stamps from this range to embellish the page – I’ve used them to add small details to some of the blank ‘shapes’ I cut out. The “P” is also one of the stamps. The cute little “love” ribbon clip is by Brown Sugar Designs and comes in a 2-design pack – and is currently on sale in the store. So grab one while they last.

20090123_img_1726_1

The papers are very bright, so to contrast this I have backed the layout onto black cardstock (Raven) and used black as the accent colour (eg the chippy cherries). I’ve also made sure that I have limited the colours in the layout to those of the patterned papers. Luckily for me, this snooty picture of Madame being a superior “Senior Kindy” girl was out in the backyard in front of some trees (green) and the shirt she was wearing was pink (too bright though – so I photoshopped it into a red one to match the papers).

The trick to using lots of cut out shapes is to cluster them or have them sprawl across a page. I’ve kept a lot of my shapes in their original positions – already clustered together – and have only added single ones here and there to ‘fill out’ an empty section of the layout. I’ve also made sure that the colours on the layout are spread around – so a bit of green on this side and also on the other – black across the top and then also the bottom. It helps to keep the layout coherent.

20090123_img_172princess_1

So – try using some bold and funky patterned paper to create shaped embellishments and journalling tags on a layout. Your budget will love you – and I bet YOU love the layouts.

(Yeah – it’s growing on me. Have to admit the colours are still a little startling to me.)

One Response

  1. Oh I love this layout Ngaire. Such a sweet photo too! I have left you a surprise on my blog!

    Hugs
    Renee

Leave a Reply

