BG Bittersweet

Just delicious is how you would describe the new Bittersweet range from Basic Grey. Yummy chocolates (both dark and milk), luscious toffee, rich raspberry and soft pinks make for a sweet treat. This range is just bursting with colour and sweet sentiments. Obviously meant as their ‘Valentines’ range, Bittersweet is perfect for all those layouts of loved ones (or things).

I’ve done a lot of different things with my Glimmermist, but one application I had yet to try was to spray it all over a page and then crumple it up to give it a distressed look. Using the soft Blushing Pink background paper and some Iridescent Gold Glimmermist, that’s exactly what I did. After crumpling it I flattened it a little and dried it with my heat embossing gun – which made it curl up quite nicely on the edges. Prior to applying the Glimmermist I had distressed and inked the edges of the paper.

As you can see in – “Love You” – the affect is just gorgeous, all soft and shimmery and very girly. I added some strips of other papers (Crushed Berry, Belgian, Mousse and Vanilla Fudge) and then cut out one of the paisley/flower combinations from Cherry Cordial and a strip of the pattern from Brittle. The little hearts you see are one of the small clear stamps from the range and the larger heart is from the rubon pack.

20090128_img_1745loveyou_1

This was the last of my layout challenge entries from a couple of weeks ago – I had to make a matching card to go with it. The design elements are pretty much the same as the layout and this is a great way to use up small bits and pieces left over from other projects.

20090116_img_1641final_1

For – “Just” – I took a different approach. I had some lovely photos of Madame playing with her doll, both of them wearing their matching Sugarplum fairy costumes. The golden toffee tones of the Almond Toffee and the rich chocolate of the Belgian were a great counterpoint to the deep reds I used in the cardstock and embellishments and were a perfect match for the fairy costume.

This time I used embossing to provide some interest to the page. I’ve pretty much embossed anything that didn’t move. The small flowers on the title alphas (using one of the small clear stamps from the range); the Green Tara flowers; the chipboard hearts; the lace flowers and the magic mesh are all embossed with gold embossing powder. As you can see – the embossing gives a wonderful finish and texture to whatever you have embossed.

20090128_img_1749crop_1

Next time you use some ribbon on a layout – try folding it. It is an interesting and pretty technique and adds dimension and interest to your page. I’ve attached mine with some metallic gold thread – but you can adhere it with double-sided tape as well.

20090128_img_1757_1

Rather than leaving your stamping plain – embellish it with Kindyglitz and rhinestones. This paisley from one of the clear stamp sets in the range is just gorgeous with a tracing of Crystalina Kindyglitz and some decorative rhinestones.

20090128_img_1748_1

And what layout is not complete with a Prima flower? Just loving what Prima has put out in the last couple of years – really looking forward to the current CHA releases – I have already seen some must-haves. I’ve overlaid this one onto one of the Green Tara flowers that has been embossed – they make a lovely combination.

20090128_img_1759_1

Here is the final layout – another of my competition entries from a few weeks ago. I must say that although I was exhausted by the end of it, it was fantastic to get so many gorgeous layouts done in such a short space of time.

20090128_img_1752just_1

With – “She Fills my World” – I really wanted to show off the rich and dramatic colours in the Bittersweet range. I’ve used a black and white photo, so as not to detract from the colours in the papers. This allowed me to fill the rest of the page with the deep reds, bright pinks and velvety chocolates that typify this range. Yummo – just love the look of the finished layout – all those wonderful colours together.

More cutting out – the paisley again and some circles from the Meltaway patterned paper. This time I also used one of the border pieces from the Element Stickers sheet. These are great value, as there are a lot of pieces – shapes, words, tags and borders – and they are often perfect to pop into a small space in your layout.

20090205_img_1876_1

The smaller letters in the title are the chipboard ones from the range. All I have done is inked them (they are pink originally) brown and then sprayed a light layer of Glimmermist over them. Too easy – and just perfect.

20090205_img_1874_1

We had a small (friendly) competition in the TSE forum recently, making and using hand made flowers. I liked the look of them so much, that I made one for this layout from left-over bits of the papers I had used. I like to make mine with a spray of Glimmermist , rather than water and then I dry them with my embossing gun. This really makes the edges curl and gives the finished flower a lovely look. Although you can use anything you want – I’ve used one of the buttons from the Bittersweet range to finish off my flower.

20090205_img_1875_1

And here it is – possibly my favourite layout for this year so far – I just love the way it has turned out. The photo was a total fluke. It came at the tail-end of the photo shoot I took to get the 3 Bugs layout photo – I was just looking at the final photo set, when Madame came up underneath me asking to have a look too. She was perfectly framed in the camera – and I managed to snap off 4/5 gorgeous photos of her – up close and personal as they say. A scrapping Mum’s dream come true.

20090205_img_1867shefillsmyworld_1

The technique/tip for this week comes from this layout. The stitching I did is not freehand drawn (though I do that as well). I cheated. I’ve stamped a flourish pattern onto some thick transparency and then punched holes through it in the pattern. This gives me a stitching template I can use repeatedly. I use a pushpin (just a regular corkboard one) to make the stitching holes – much easier than trying to push the needle though (and cheaper than getting a fancy paper piecer to do it). Doing it this way is not only faster – it is also easier, because you have the template to refer back to if you are not sure which stitching hole to move to next. This often happens when doing complicated patterns – and this flourish pattern would have been much harder to stitch without it. If you check out the TSE forum here – you can see the instructions for this tip.

And to celebrate the arrival of Bitterweet, Mary at TSE is generously allowing you to enjoy a 20% discount, through to Thursday 12th February, on all Basic Grey and Tattered Angels products which includes the gorgeous Glimmer Mist.

Leave a Reply

