Naptime – Heritage Style Layouts using “Bella Bella – Bellezo”

So 123 is having a heritage month this month and I simply don’t have the photos for this (not into old photos) and tis a rare layout of mine that has a heritage look to it. But heritage it had to be – luckily for me, Wilma has in the lovely, soft papers of the Bella Bella – Bellezo range, by MME. They’re a little different from previous ranges from MME, – but well worth looking at.

I had planned on cutting out my title – had this gorgeous free font I had downloaded to do it with – and then I found this old Scrap FX chippie letter. Umm ahhh – just perfect. I’ve inked it with chalk ink and that’s it. The rest of the title is cut out. Just under the title you can see a die-cut edge. I made a little photo mat for my photo using one of the Fiskars border punches. You will see it better in the final photo – but it looks gorgeous. I’ve inked the outside edge of the frame – just the patterned roses bit and not the embossed section inside it – and that gives it a very soft and pretty look.

20090401_img_2582_1

The flowers are all in the do-it-yourself variety of flowers. I started with plain white paper flowers (Prima) – to which I painted (using a water-pen) on some Glimmermist – the appropriately named Old Lace and the very pretty Snow Angel. I dried them with my heat gun, as this seems to bring out the shimmer much more than letting them dry naturally. After they were dry I ‘edged’ the petals with an old Dark Brown Colorbox chalk ink.

The cool thing about chalk inks, is that they get a really ‘soft’ appearance when they have been used for a bit – the colour is not as sharp and dark as it is when you first get them – and it is when they are worn-in (so to speak), that you get the ability to get different ‘looks’ to them. So you end up with a lovely ‘soft’ brown edge to the flowers. I finished off each flower with some Kaiser pearls (the smaller ones) and some whole beading pearls (the larger flowers).

20090401_img_2579_11

Another close-up of the flowers – I am so impressed by the way they turned out.

20090401_img_2577_1

I made my own tag (another technique you often see on heritage layouts) – and it’s oh so simple. You cut a rectangle of left-over paper to the size you want, use a corner rounder to give it a rounded edge and punch a hole in one end. Tie a little left-over ribbon through the hole and whallah – one tag that perfectly matches your layout. I’ve again inked the edges of mine with my old chalk ink to give it a soft, aged look but then I ran a new Dark Brown ink along the edges to give it a crisp edge only. It gives you a lovely dual inked affect – though you can do the same thing with 2 different colours of chalk ink as well.

The little paper die-cut bird you can see has been treated exactly the same way as the flowers: Glimmermist and then chalk ink.

20090401_img_2578_1

And here is the final layout. I’ve used some paper rolling (another technique often seen in heritage layouts) to create a ‘frame’ for my layout. To do this – I marked out on my paper the size I wanted the ‘frame’ to be and then cut out the middle (about 2 cm in from my drawn line). I used double-sided tape to stick the lace down right on the marked line and then softened the paper with a water spray and rolled it back to the lace. Then I dried it with my heat gun – which makes it dry very firmly in place – inked it with chalk ink and adhered the entire frame onto another piece of background patterned paper.

After sticking the two bits of patterned paper together I inked around the edges with my “old” Dark Brown chalk ink AND randomly over the frame paper itself. Then I gave it a harder ‘edge’ with my new Dark Brown chalk ink. This gives a lovely, soft ‘old’ feel to the paper.

You’ll also notice that in the bottom corner of the patterned paper – where all the flowers and leaves are – I cut them out rather than cut a straight line. There’s also a gorgeous chippie flourish/ photo corners from Scraplets that was inked in the Dark Brown chalk ink and a chippy photo holder which I covered in patterned paper and inked the edges of.

20090401_img_2573naptime_1

So – my take on ‘heritage style’ – go grab some of these lovely MME papers from 123 here and have a go yourself.

Leave a Reply

