Newsletter and CC time at TSE

Lol – I have lumped the two of them in together, since I used the same paper range for them.

When I saw the Kaiser Sugar Sugar range of papers I knew they would be perfect for a Bazzill stitching template I had. Could not wait to pull the papers out and start stitching. I thought I would try something different with them. I had seen someone else do this at an lss I popped into – rather than use the template just as stitching – combine it with some paper and make a stitched paper piecing. I love the way it turned out.

20090414_img_2740closeup2_1

The title of the layout comes from Madame’s pj’s – the words written on the front of them – and Julie at Scraplets has excelled herself in creating for me the perfect chippy title to go with my layout. I’ve simply inked it with chalk ink and a little Kindyglitz – perfect!!

20090414_img_2742closeup_1

I’ve used the pink cupcake patterned paper as the background for the layout and created an interest point by cutting up some of the strips from the strip-pattern paper and sticking them vertically on the left side of the page. I’ve trimmed the edges of this strip to reflect the looped pattern on the paper – adding further interest to the strip. That chocolate loop pattern is one I really like – so I then cut some more to make a frame for my photo and Kindyglitzed it to make it stand out. The chocolate stitching around the edges of the patterned paper mirrors the looped pattern in the paper strip and takes up some of that empty space I hate so much.

20090414_img_2738_1

With all those yummy colours to play with – both soft and bright yellows; pinks and coral-reds; chocolate browns and soft oranges – it’s easy to make the layouts look different, even when you are only using a limited number of them. And the patterns are lovely too – who can go past the four small patterned papers (the orange spot; pink cupcakes; chocolate party treats and multicoloured splotches) – the yellow and coral background papers and the glorious strips and cakes papers (both of which beg for cutting up)?

If “Daddy’s Little Cupcake” was soft pink/chocolate and coral – “Cupcake Cutie” focussed much more on the yellows and corals in the papers. I’ve used a different – brighter – section of the strip paper and a bright yellow cardstock for the base of the layout.

Some bright coral border stitching gives it a funky edge and the title – though chipboard – has this time been inked brown and covered in Dimensional Magic to give it a glossy look. I rarely think to finish off my title chippies this way – should do it more often as I love the look. The small dots you see on the title were punched out of the patterned paper using one of my eyelet setters.

20090414_img_2705closeup3_1

The journalling is on a transparency sheet – I simply printed straight onto the sheet with my colour inkjet printer (not all transparency paper can be used this way though – so check yours first). I’ve used the patterned paper to again make a small frame for one of the photos – that curly doodled pattern is so cool for frames.

20090414_img_2705closeup2_1

And here is the final layout – just love my little cupcake enjoying one of her favourite foods. She nibbles all the edges off first, licks off the icing and then eats the cake.

20090414_img_2706_1

“Let her eat cake” started out life as a single layout – but then I found that I had to use more photos to capture the story I wanted to tell. Orange is the dominant colour this time, supported by yellow and brown.

The yellow strip is simply a series of punched out circles attached with double-sided tape to the page and then stitched down (the tape alone won’t hold them). You can see the Kindyglitz ‘icing’ on the yummy cut-out cakes too.

20090414_img_2731_1

With all the photos on the page I went for simple with everything else – a simple inked chippy title, strip journalling and two clusters of embellishments (some of those yummy cakes). The larger photo on each page has a cardstock matt that I doodled the edge of – and cut out – to match the loopy pattern in the paper. But most of it is just layers of lovely paper.

20090414_img_2724closeup_1

And here is Madame happily downing her first birthday cake – to the last crumb and icing smear on the plate.

20090414_img_2714_1

With “Sugar and Spice” I’ve tried to mix up the colours again – coral, yellow, brown and off-white this time.

The focal embellishment for this page was the chippy cupcake – another Scraplets masterpiece. I coloured the cupcake with alcohol inks using a technique I can’t share with you just yet (apologies) – and a touch of Kindyglitz for the frosting.

20090415_img_2775_1

After the layout went into the newsletter I changed my mind on how I wanted the page to look – and took off the cupcake (I will use it somewhere else) and replaced it with some flowers.

20090417_img_2814_1

How could you not make cards with these papers? Luckily for me, I have friends with birthdays this month – and a great excuse to make cards with this ‘party’ range. I’ve tried to showcase each of the materials/techniques I have used in the layouts in these cards. As you can see – I again used the Bazzill Stitching Template to create one of the cards…

20090414_img_2745_1

whilst another uses one of the Scraplets cupcakes (this time with patterned paper on it)…

20090414_img_2764_1

and the last has some of those gorgeous cut out cakes from the patterned paper. None of the cards is complicated in design and they took very little time to create (yeah yeah – other than the stitching bit and that is only because I am such a slow sewer).

20090414_img_2747_1

And finally to the cc layout. With it being party time at TSE – it was time for balloons, cakes and cheering.

And a party isn’t a party without a cake – or at least a layout about one.

Ok – yours doesn’t have to be a layout about a cake – but you do have to follow these criteria for my cc challenge.

1. Journalling on a handmade journalling spot.
2. Must include brads somewhere
3. Must be about SOMETHING special rather than someone – a favourite
gift, bunch of flowers or an object associated with a celebration.

And here is my layout for this challenge – simplicity itself – but what a yummy cake it was.

20090414_img_2704_1

It’s not too late to join us at the cc – layouts have until next weekend (midnight Sat I think) to be uploaded. It would be lovely to see you there.

Leave a Reply

