I am Woman cc at 123

This month’s theme has been “I am Woman”. From tonight we are running the cc with games and a chat in our 123 Chatroom and will be posting up the challenges for the week. You have until next weekend to get your entries in for a chance at winning store vouchers.

I got to play with the stunning Kaiser Grandiose papers this time – and they are simply glorious. Lovely rich hues of brown, red and creamy yellow. The pattern combinations are ideal for layering – and that’s exactly what I did. I’m not much of a ‘layerer’ generally – but it was really easy to do with these papers. I also cut out a section of the circle patterns to produce a scalloped strip, into which I put some eyelets with some string tied through them like a ribbon. Underneath this I put a row of circles punched out from the patterned papers. Love the effect.

20090529_IMG_3452_1

I got the chance to use up some old stash too – some Op-shop buttons and left-over Prima flowers. There was this cool metal button that was perfect for the larger layered flower. More string – this time in the button centres.

20090529_IMG_3453_1

For the title I re-did that gob-smackingly gorgeous chippy technique using the walnut ink crystals. Was perfect for the layout. Lots of inking with the Colorbox chalk inks to match the colours in the patterned paper. A bit of a mixed title – I’m getting much more comfortable with using the little Carolee’s Creations alphas.

20090529_IMG_3454_1

The journalling is hidden. I was a little naughty too – since this month was supposed to be “no little girls allowed” – and the layout is about Madame as usual. The only problem is I don’t scrap myself – I’ve done all the photos I have of my grandmother and my Mum does not want hers on public display. So there was not much choice left for me for a layout. To stick as close as possible to the theme though – I have journalled about how in her most recent photos I can see the woman within. The tag is hidden behind the photo – since it is pretty personal in tone – but it talks about the ‘glimpses’ of the woman she is growing up to be, the strengths and characteristics I think she will continue to develop as she matures. It’s amazing watching your children grow – and when you look back you can see how the seeds of who they are when they are older can be seen in them from a very early age.

So the criteria for my challenge are:

1 – layering – pile them on thick girls, I want to see layer upon layer.
2 – scallops and flowers – I don’t care how you combine them, just want those pretty shells and blooms on there somewhere.
3 – string, string, string, string – everybody loves string.

Aside from the criteria – I’d like to challenge you to scrap a reflective moment for yourself: it can be a self-reflection or one of another woman in your life or your relationship with someone else – whatever – I just want to see you do a layout that has some deeper meaning, one that comments on who you are right now.

And here is the final layout:

20090529_IMG_3457womanwithin_1

One Response

  1. Wow, love love LOVE what you have done with these Kaiser papers Ngaire! Am really loving the eyelets and the string – you are so creative!!!

Leave a Reply

