BG Lemonade at TSE

There is something a little ironic in taking a summery-themed collection like the new Basic Grey Lemonade to work on during a skiing holiday. I must admit, it made for interesting scrapping whilst tucked up warmly with hot cocoa and choci cake in a cute little chalet – but it did take a little more of a work out on behalf of the old mojo.

For “Wave Watching”, my first layout, I wanted something that would feature an oversize photo, as well as a collection of smaller associated photos – obviously I needed a double layout. I kept the paper layers simple – only a little distressing and a punched edge using the Fiskars Boundary Waters punch.

20090929_IMG_6064_1

The photos take up the majority of the page – so the embellishments are located along the edges of the layout. I’ve used a collection of Prima flowers for the larger embellishments – the Ivory Trellis Roses, a Cherry Blossom Petit Fleur Vine and some Festive Mix (which I altered with Glimmermist). I broke up the vine and mixed it with the other flowers to make flower clusters here and there. Some pink Prima pearl flourishes were also cut up and tucked in around the flower clusters.

20090929_IMG_6062_1

The gorgeous shimmery finish to the altered flowers comes from the new (to the store) Kindyglitz Crystalina 3D – a touch of the heat gun to dry and you get this white, glittery, frosted appearance. The pink fabric you can see in the middle of the larger flowers is made from a petal off one of the Princess Posies Flowers (by Imaginisce) – I’ve gently heated it with my heat gun until it shrivelled up a little and then I glued it to the flower with a Kaiser Green Pea Rhinestone as a flower centre.

20090929_IMG_6057_1

More of the Kindyglitz for the title alphas – the chipboard (by Bella) was inked a dark plum with an overlay of gold alcohol ink mixative (Tim Holtz) and then coated with the Kindyglitz. This mix was heated until it bubbled with a heat gun. The inks all run together with the Kindyglitz to make a stunning finish.

20090929_IMG_6056_1

To finish it off I added some strip journalling, buttons and a couple of the rubons from the Lemonade Collection Olio rubon book.

20090929_IMG_6060_1

Creating a successful double layout sometimes takes a little more thought than a single layout – so my forum tip this week will deal with designing double layouts, as well as explaining how I altered the (originally) white flowers for the layout. I’ll post up another of the layouts from the newsletter tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

