Paper Inklings – school papers and embellishments – part 1

So how many times have you wished that you had some appropriate papers to put with all those school photos you get? You know the ones I mean – you pay for the packages every year through the school and they arrive back with all those silly little tiny ones that you almost never use and the rest get farmed out to grandma’s and aunts.

Well Paper Inklings – a local Aussie company – has come to the rescue. Their new School range is just awesome. Lots of lovely colours to suit most schools and some fantastic patterns to the papers make this a great line for using up all those annual school portraits. Besides the great patterned papers, they have a matching range of rubons and chipboard titles and shapes that cover both Primary and Secondary school.

When I checked out their website I noticed they already had some wonderful layouts using school photos – so I thought I would see how well you could use the papers to make a layout that was less a ‘traditional school photo’ layout and more like the ones I normally do. And I have to admit I am pretty pleased with the results to date.

I’ve had this photo of DS1 and one of his favourite year 9 teachers for a long time now. This woman was a godsend. Young and hip and full of enthusiasm – she managed to undo the damage the previous maths teacher had done to his love of and self-confidence in maths. The Paper Inklings range was perfect – it kept the focus on the school/maths and yet let me be artistic and girly in design. DS1 loves the layout – and is old enough to appreciate the meaning behind some of the quotes printed on the patterned paper.

paperinklingssimon_1

Ignoring the dreadful photo (you try taking one with such a bright sunny day and your subjects are under-cover) I think the layout manages to represent both aspects of the moment it captures. I’ve tried to let as much of the pattern on the paper show up the maths/learning theme and yet the flowers and the threading soften it and make it fun and ‘arty’.

I’ve layered the dark green side of one of the patterned papers over another that is made up of all these ruler measurements strips. Ripping out the centre allows me to have the contrasting ruler paper show through the darker green paper. I then punched some eyelets into two of the rip corners and threaded some string through them. It’s grungy – but then maths is never pretty (lol – it was never my favourite subject). Underneath the threaded string are some paper flowers I cut out of one of the other patterned papers in a gorgeous contrasting red. I’ve inked around the edges in white ink and added a few pearls to the centre of them. Gorgeous!!

20091013_IMG_6229_1

Here’s a close-up of the flowers. Love the maths symbols and other educational bits printed on the papers.

20091014_IMG_6242_1

I’ve framed 2 corners of the photo with some of the ruler-corner rubons from the range. I also used one of the title rubons and added some inked chippy to complete the title. Finishing the layout couldn’t have been easier – I just added one of the protractor chipboards from the chippy range and printed out the journaling on some of the red patterned paper.

20091014_IMG_6237_1

Whallah – a layout that DS1 loves and I am pretty impressed with too. Wilma at 123 sells some of the rubons from this range in-store here – so check them out. She also still has a heap of the papers and rubons from their last range – –Mythical – which is a just-to-die-for girly range of fairies and flourishes.

Leave a Reply

