TSE Feb Sketch – BG – Origins

Oops – sorry – a little late with this one I know. Anyway – here is the layout for it – you can check out the sketch and a chance at the prize cupboard here at TSE.

I love these new papers where you get all this embellishment on the corners/edges with less patterned paper in the middle. Lets you stick ‘stuff’ to your heart’s content in the middle of the page and still have pretty edges. Anyway – Sea Salt – is one such paper and it is much prettier in real life that it looks on the screen. In fact, most of the papers from this range are. I was so-so when they first came out – but had a chance of getting a Collection pack at half price – so I did – and I am sorry now I did not get more of some of the individual papers as they are lovely.

Anyway – the base is Sea Salt and the only other paper on it is a torn part of Renew – which I used because of the awesome flowers on it. If you look closely here you can see the flowers behind all the other ‘stuff’. The only other ‘pattern’ as such comes from part of a journaling transparency overlay that I cut up and put to the left of the photo – all I wanted were the lovely flowers on it.

I’ve seen a lot of layouts recently with chippy frames on them just put here and there – either around titles or journaling or some little bit the scrapper wanted to highlight – so I thought I would try that with this gorgeous Twiddleybitz frame I got from Mary. Yummo – a little distress ink smudged over it here and there, a coat of Rock Candy Crackle Paint and whallah – just stunning. Love it! I used it to frame some cool flowers on the patterned paper – and I highlighted them with some Rock Candy Distress Stickles.

There are a heap of old (some are Pie Shop ones and others are from last year) Prima flowers and pearls/bling to embellish the papers and to keep the nature theme going. I was lucky enough to have the perfect colour matches in my stash and for once left the Glimmermist alone.

The small flowers I embellished with a little Peeled Paint Distress Stickles and some buttons from the Origins collection. (Don’t you just love the quality control issues BG??) Lmao – shabby is as shabby does – so I left it on like that. The little tag behind the flower is a left-over bit of some grunge-paper that I put though my Cuttlebug and embossed with flowers and vines. Inked up with some distress ink it came up a treat. The tag itself is a Nestability tag – wonderful things these. No more cutting out and trying for a clean edge for me!! Now I have perfect tags every time. Some more pearls/bling finishes it off. The strip of paper behind it all is the reverse side of the Sea Salt paper and is gorgeous – a grungy sort of cross-hatching pattern. Want another sheet of this one just so I can use the reverse.

The alphas were done using the same technique as the frame. A mix of Peeled Paint (or it might have been Shabby Shutters – I totally forget now), Tea Dye and Walnut Stain Distress Inks just smudged on where-ever. It’s more a mix of the first two with a little Walnut Stain just wiped over to give it some darker spots on it. More Rock Candy over the top for those lovely fine cracks.

Not a lot of journaling on this one, as it is part of a larger set of photos I took up at Purlingbrook Falls. My little Poppet had a lovely time up there playing Pussycat Fairy and communing with nature. She was fascinated with the HUGE lobby we spotted in the creek. Lmao – she was disgusted though when we told her that some people eat them. Not for her she says!!

So that’s my sketch layout for the month – head off to TSE for the sketch itself and a chance at the prize cupboard.

Leave a Reply

