March Inspiration Challenge

So I got this month’s inspiration challenge over at 123. Come join us for a great new challenge competition where you can win a store voucher. Each month one of the DT will supply something – a word, an image, an item, an advertisement – anything, that can inspire you to create a layout. Post your creation to the appropriate gallery and be in the running for a store voucher to spend at 123.

This month I thought I would use an autumn theme – so check out the image here in the forum and get creating.

From the image I created the following layout for DS3. I used the glorious Indian Summer range from Basic Grey – a range that is perfect for any Autumn photo.

I’ve had bits of this layout for simply months – just sitting there waiting for me to finish. There was a fair bit of cutting out to do and I was waiting until I bit the bullet and went and got the reading glasses I needed to be able to see properly to do the cutting out. It’s not what I originally intended – but I really do like the way it came out in the end. You can see all the cutting out and layering I did on the side of the photo. The white elements are coated in Kindyglitz – so they sparkle and glitter in real life and are very pretty.

The flower is a gorgeous one from Prima – just stunning. Pinks and oranges – just the perfect match for the papers. The chippy heart over it is from Twiddleybitz and I love using this winged heart. This time I have inked it with Tim Holtz Distress Ink and covered it with Rock Candy Crackle Paint.

The tree is also by Twiddleybitz – this one is the medium. A coat of ink and some Kaiser pearls to decorate and it is perfect.

The alphas are a mix of some older Basic Grey (Wilma) and more recent Kaiser ones. I used some Kaiser pearls for full stops and the dot on the “i”. The title is also the first part of the journalling, which I printed onto some transparency and then glued to the paper.

So come join us in the Inspiration Challenge at 123 – we’d love to see your layout up in the gallery.

Leave a Reply

