Bo Bunny Delilah + Prima news

Last week I got to play with the Delilah range from Bo Bunny. The colour palette for the range includes warm orange-browns and yellows, rich creams, strong pinks and chocolate browns. The main pattern motif focuses on leaves, trees and flowers, though there are some exceptional background papers and the standard stripe. It’s certainly not a range for the faint-hearted – but with some careful choices in paper combinations it is possible to range from very feminine layouts to more striking and bold designs.

With my first layout – Music Love – I have focused on the darker colours in the range – the chocolate brown and dark orange-brown. The trick to using such dark colours in a layout is to also provide lighter colours as a contrast – in this case the cream and pink.

There’s lots of layering of different elements here – stickers, rubons, different papers, flowers – I don’t think there was a product type in the range that wasn’t used somewhere. Rather than use large sections of the patterned paper, these ‘layers’ are mostly just strips of the papers overlaid over each other. You get a great effect with very little paper used. The whole layering of smaller strips of paper – particularly when they are punched with a border punch like the Threading Water one – is something I am seeing a lot of lately. Although I am not necessarily one to slavishly follow trends, I do like this one.

I’ve also used one of the Twiddleybitz floral corners to frame my photo. It has been inked and then coated with Rock Candy Crackle Paint. This is one of their 2-piece chipboard sets and to provide a contrast to the top layer I painted the lower piece with pink paint. I also used a couple of the Fern Leaves which match the corner really well.

For decorative elements I cut out some of the flowers from one of the patterned papers and Kindyglitzed the centres. Bo Bunny are well known for including a sheet of paper with tags, journaling spots and die cut shapes on it. These are great for cutting up and including on your layouts – here I have used one as a journaling spot – although it’s main purpose is decorative. To some extent the die cut elements of this range are one of their best features – I’ve used one on each of the three layouts I’ve done with this range. The smaller tags are pretty cool too – I wish I could have used them more than I did – but I must admit to not being much of a tag person.

I’ll follow up later in the week with the other two layouts I did – but right now I want to bring your attention to the fact that Prima is in at TSE/Ideal Papercraft and you better get in quick to get some of that yummy goodness. Mary has gotten in a huge range of flowers, with more to come. She has probably the best range of the white Innoscence collection I have seen online in Australia. So pop in here for all that flowery loveliness and beat me to them. 🙂

One Response

  1. Thanks for the info

Leave a Reply

