Oceana – June Newsletter layout 1

Creative Imaginations never disappoint me. Every year I can rely on them to produce at least one range of papers and embellishments that are perfect for our annual trip to the beach. Once (sometimes twice) a year we get to go back to my home town and spend days exploring the local beach – lovely empty stretches of sand and surf – and lots of little rock pools to explore. The kids love going up there as we don’t have the time on weekends normally to get to the beach – so these are treasured little moments in time for them.

Of all the CHA stuff released this year – Oceana – was probably the one ‘must have’ that went immediately onto my shopping list. Well ok – Beathless is up there too, (and the Crate Paper and Prima ranges), but I have to wait for that one to come out!

Oceana has a stunning colour range – purpled navy and turquoise blues, together with vibrant coral and golden oranges and the hint of fresh green and sandy beige. My only disappointment with the range is a lack of a dominantly green patterned paper and the fact that two of the best designs are on opposite sides of the same paper – but the rest is sheer scrapping bliss. And as with any of their ranges – so many goodies that it is a little hard to know where to start with it all.

With all the gorgeous colours and patterns in the range it is almost impossible not to want to layer them. In this layout – Reflection – I’ve tried to use the darker blues to reflect both the ocean colours in the photo and the quieter ‘theme’ of the layout. To contrast this I have used the softer, more muted orange/coral tones of the ‘signature’ paper of the range. The original inspiration for this layout came from the stunning layout done by one of the CI DT to showcase the range. I have no idea where Cheryl got some of the papers she used in her layout – since there is no dominantly green paper in the range – and believe me, I searched high and low to work out what she used.

Most ranges will have what they call a ‘signature paper’ – the one that has what the manufacturer thinks is the ‘must have’ pattern. It’s also – lol – the one that usually sells out first when you want to buy the range. For Oceana the signature paper is ‘Sealife’ – and I have to admit that in the end I had to put this one under my desk so it wasn’t used on ALL the layouts – I just found myself automatically reaching for it. If you buy nothing else – get this paper and 2 copies of it – since the dark blue reverse is also stunning.

One of the great things about this range is that it can be used with many of the previous beach/ocean themed ranges from Creative Imaginations. The chipboard shell embellishments I have used here are from the Tidepools collection and the creamy paper is from South Seas (which is still in-stock in the Ideal Papercraft store).

I’ve used a variety of edging techniques on this layout – including inking, tearing, rolling and sanding – so that each of the layers is different from the others. Lots of Glimmermist on the chipboard and flowers as well – to get this shade I mixed Sapphire and Carribean Blue, with Coral for the flowers.

One thing that does go well on beach/ocean themed layouts is scroll or flourish style chipboard. If you position your swirls just right you can get a ‘wave’ feel to them. Adding other items over the top of the chipboard – like this seahorse – is a great way to decorate them too. You can see the difference here between the mix of blues I mentioned before and the Sapphire by itself (the alphas) – the mix is just perfect to match the seahorse. The alphas are ones by Bella – love the font.

I’ll put the other two layouts from this range up over the next couple of days. I’m glad I have some of the papers left – Madame’s Prep just announced that the theme for their Prep Ball this year is “Under the Sea” so I can see myself using this for that too. I’ll also put up the Blind Scrap from the previous post as well. I’ve been a little slack in blogging lately and need to catch up on some things I think. Sorry 😦

Leave a Reply

