Creative Imaginations – Breathless

You might have noticed that I am a big Creative Imaginations fan and a total Marah Johnson addict. Love that woman’s sense of grunge. So I was thrilled to bits that Mary got in the top selling 2010 CHA range by Marah called Breathless. Just for little old me (and of course all the other ladies who promised they would buy it). Working with it has been HUGE. I had ‘pick-me’s’ from all the boys (they all read Twilight before it was trendy) plus several gorgeous photos from Madame that suited it perfectly. Good thing I got in multiple copies of each paper.

Some papers you just can’t bear to cover up or cut into. The Breathless range is one of them. Inspired by her daughter’s love of the Twilight series, the range is pure romantic urban goth. Marah does grunge to perfection and this range is ideal for teens of both genders. Actually – buggar the teens – it is pefect for anyone. The whole romance theme would work for any age.

Red, black and purple are the dominant colours with touches here and there of silver, white and cream. There are the usual specialty papers that CI is famous for: with flocked, foiled and varnished textured papers, as well as an intriguing Gate 12 x 12 die-cut. Although CI produce the usual array of matching embellishments – the great thing about this range is that with the current fascination with chandeliers, candelabra etc – there are lots of embellishments from other companies that can be mixed and matched to great effect.

For the first layout – Twilight – (yes – I HAD to do one on this theme) my DS2 won the rights to the patterned paper with the bloody drips on it. Although not much else caught his fancy in the patterned papers, that was fine, as it was a perfect foil for the die-cut Iron Gate paper. It’s hard to see in the images – but to further enhance the look of the gate I have added texture and colour to it by spraying it with Glimmermist and then applying some Tim Holtz Distress Stickles.

I’ve embedded one of the Diecut Notepad Pages under some of the blood drips – which were easier to cut out than you might think. The journaling is a computer font that I thought matched the whole ‘Twilight’ theme and is printed on acetate so that I can move the words about the blood drips to make reading them less difficult. The rose and black swirl you see are some of the Foiled Epoxy Stickers from the range.

Ahhhh the chippy you can get to match this. Just awesome. By coincidence, Twiddleybitz have matched or almost matched several of the motifs in the Breathless range. Dusty Attic also make some theme matching chipboard and the title and apples you see on the layout are part of this. I inked the apples and then applied a glossy coat of Dimensional Magic. The title got a more complex treatment of multiple inks mixed with Crystalina Kindyglitz and a few bouts with my heat gun. You can see the texture on the gate bars in this closeup too.

The Twiddleybitz candelabra has a generous application of Maya Road Metallic Silver Ink which I heat set and then grunged over with some black ink. The red tips to the candles come from a generous daub of Tim Holtz Fired Brick Distress Stickles. Makes them sparkle just like real candle flames. Too cool.

Other oddments you can see include a Layered Sticker and Die-Cut Shape from the range and a chipboard hinge from Twiddleybitz (which was also given the distressed silver grunge look). Hopefully when he gets back from camp and finally sees this layout DS2 will be happy with it – though thankfully he is now long over the whole Twilight craze.

I’ll post the other 2 layouts of Madame together tomorrow.

With all Creative Imaginations stock enjoying a 20% off sale (until next Thursday) I would be running in ‘Breathless-ly’ to grab some for yourself. I love it so much that I have started a mini album (yeah yeah I know I don’t do them) and have a double page planned out (just need the photos) for Madame and her ‘Veronica’s” clothes we got from Target (such a trendy little miss she is). So you will have to beat me back before I re-stock.

Leave a Reply

