Creative Imaginations – Breathless (part 2) and a competition

Fashionista is a layout that I loved designing, but executing it was a pain in the proverbial. That particular EK Success Punch does not have a corner component and it took some practice before I could get the corners to my satisfaction. That I then promptly went and put embellishments over one of the painstakingly cut corners is neither here nor there – I know they are perfect. 🙂

I love this paper – Dark Opera – just love it. The chandelier is simply stunning. The purple is very vibrant, even though it is dark and it is almost a crime to cover up any of the paper. I just HAD to use this paper. You’ll notice there is a lot more empty space on this layout than I normally leave and that is simply because the paper design works to fill it so well.

Of course I had to use the Twiddleybitz chipboard Chandelier – it is a perfect match for the design on the paper after all. A nice coating of purple ink and then lashings of Crystalina Kindyglitz and it was just stunning. I used another of the Diecut Notepad Pages under it to help make it stand out and the purple ‘scrolly’ bit to the right is part of a journaling tag from the Die-Cut Shapes pack. I’ve hidden some journaling under there about Madame and her love of beautiful clothes – she is quite the little fashionista I’m afraid.

In keeping with the fashion theme I also used a Twiddleybitz chipboard Mannequin (part of a set of 3) which was Glimmermisted Candy Apple Red and then distressed with black chalk ink. I used the same technique for the small Prima rose (which was white) but the purple Prima rose is an older one that comes like that – all shabby and vintage looking. The jewelled pin and the cameo (one of the new Websters Pages ones) are from my own stash, but the silver sticker is part of the Layered Sticker pack.

And just for Maggie – I have included some feathers on this layout. How to make the lovely little feather dress is my Technique/Tip for the week and you can check out the Ideal Papercraft forum for the instructions for this easy-to-make-but-gorgeous little embellishment. I simply used a little of the left-over Hanbury Street paper (reverse side) along with some black marabou feathers and a Black Kaisercraft Rhinestone.

Just one last thing – the title alphas. They are part of the new Tattered Angels range of resist products – IR.RESIST.IBLE Alphas, Gothic – and are just perfect to team up with the Breathless papers. Simply spraying on the Candy Apple Red Glimmermist gave me an instant, but cool, title.

Winter Rose has the photo that made me desperate to get the Breathless range. Well ok, I wanted it anyway – but I knew it was perfect for this photo. I got the idea for the photo from one I saw of an American girl wearing hers. Mom is obviously a little more ‘full on’ than me with her photo shoots, as that poor little thing had more make-up on than a Covergirl model. She couldn’t have been more than 12 as that is the largest size that manufacturer (Kate Mack – a signature line from Biscotti) makes most of her clothes in. Shoot me someone if I ever get the urge to do that to my poor daughter. Loving the gorgeous red colour with Madame’s colouring. She adores this coat/hat and I have to laugh at her with it – it’s a size 10 (I adored it, but only spotted it at the end of the season and the only one I could get was that size – but at least it was only a third of the original price, so I can’t complain) and she keeps sneaking it out of the storage box so she can prance around in it.

Again, I don’t think I have ever left so much space alone on a layout – but the complex and beautiful pattern on the Midnight Garden paper really doesn’t need much embellishing. There is a little piece of the Bed of Roses paper behind the photo – but the rest is all Midnight Garden.

My poor bottle of Candy Apple Red Glimmermist will never be the same again – as I have used it here too – to create these lovely red roses. Originally they were white Prima roses, but they have just come up stunning with the Glimmermist. The leaves are also Prima and also Glimmermisted – this time with Black Gold. I’ve used another little jewelled pin from my stash – this time attaching a small ribbon bow to it for interest. The pin comes from -Sugarsnapps – Joanne makes her own and they are just stunning.

Take a good look at the Twiddleybiz chipboard frame (sadly oos) here. To get that lovely textured look I have (firstly) inked it with black Stazon and then applied some Black Kindyglitz. It’s probably the only one that does give things a textured look – similar to the Distress Stickles – but what a great look it is. Love it.

The alphas are the red glitter ones from the range and the black flourishes come from the 12 x 12 Sticker Sheet.

I’ve done the cover of the mini album and started the double layout for the Veronicas clothes – but that is on hold for the moment as I am sadly without camera. My poor baby has issues with it’s memory card and needs some tender loving care from the Canon man. Either that or it has taken it’s last photo and I need to (eek) go spend huge amounts of money quickly on a new Canon 40D. Personally – I want my baby back.

The double uses the flocked and varnished papers, so keep an eye out for it in the coming weeks. I’m hoping to make the mini album one of those delightfully complex things that are full of pull out pages and tags and surprises – and I will be posting up in the forum some of the techniques I use. I used up all my internet allowance last month (during the hols) searching through you-tube for stunning minis to steal ideas from. Man there are some awesome scrappers out there doing magic things with minis.

To celebrate this wonderful range – I have a prize to give away. I have a sticker sheet from the Breathless range that was not generally stocked by stores in Australia. For a chance to win this (I’ll post the image of it in the forum too) – buy some of the Breathless range from Mary and use it to create something, post it in the Gallery by the end of August and I will get Madame to randomly pick a winner.

This is what the sticker sheet looks like.

Cool huh? So grab some Breathless from the store and get creating.

2 Responses

  1. Breathless is what this is !! absolutely !! LOVE IT

    Maggie

  2. great work,Ngaire. I cant get ont o ipc site?? Is it just me??

Leave a Reply

