Oops – missed one – Oceana (from June)

It has been pointed out – quite correctly – that I missed a layout from the June Oceana Newsletter – and since it is one of my favourite layouts, I have been shamed into making sure it goes up here on the blog. The photos of Madame running along the beach in her turquoise tutu and halo are some of my all-time favourites. She had such a ball playing beach fairy (she had just been given the Fairy Beach DVD and this was her answer to Bubbles).

In – Under the Sea – I’ve tried to show how the embellishments can be used to make the layout, rather than the patterned papers. The style of the layout is also what I call a ‘photoscape’ – where you have tried to put the photo within a scene that extends the photo into the layout. The idea is to give the illusion that Madame is looking into a rock pool at all the things she might see in there.

There are lots of elements in this – and I do admit that this is one layout that took a LOT of time to work out and actually put together. The base to it was a piece of white cardstock that I randomly stamped with Coral Glimmermist using bubblewrap. Over this went some green mesh and then a piece of the gorgeous Under the Sea (reverse side) and the photo.

This is a perfect example of what I mean when I say that the Foiled Tags and Shapes are as good as a small paper pad – here I have used a shell shaped tag as my base, together with a starfish sticker and a chipboard seahorse (from the Tidepools range). I’ve inked the edge of the seahorse a little to help him match in with the colours of the layout and to make him stand out more. The flowers are Glimmermisted with some coloured freshwater pearls from my stash as centres.

Fish stickers, a chipboard flourish and more flowers fill in the top corner over the green mesh.

Along the right edge of the layout I have used more stickers and foiled tags to create my little ‘scene’. I also cut out some of the seaweed from one of the patterned papers and added it here and there about the layout.

I’ve used the chipboard flourish to try and separate the title from the scene a little and to keep the whole wave and water theme happening. The title is a stand alone dimensional tag – but I lifted the letters off it and did not use the base of the tag. Repositioning part of the title onto a Foiled Tag allowed me to keep to the colour theme I had in mind (the original tag base is a sandy beige colour) and to position the entire title in a way that suited my layout better than the shape of the original tag. So don’t be afraid to alter embellishments like this if it suits you better to pull them apart to use them.

Now Mary still has some of the gorgeous range in store – and since we are coming up to Summer (soon, please, I am sick of the cold and rain this weekend) – it makes a wonderful range to work with all the beach photos you know you are going to take. I am planning a few more layouts with it – as Madame went to her Prep Ball last month (the theme was Sand and Sea) as a mermaid and the colours are perfect for her costume. Mary also has some more embellishments (some chipboard borders that are a late release from Creative Imaginations) coming too – so grab some before I come back for a restock.

I think this is my only catch up – back to Lush tomorrow.

One Response

  1. Beautiful & love the detail

Leave a Reply

