June Take 5 – The Layout (finally)

I have given up waiting on my computer to get totally repaired. They have the new motherboard in but there are issues with the hard drive accessing all the bits on it. I don’t want to know – I just want it fixed – soon – please. I have been very patient waiting for it I think – no-one has lost a limb…yet.

So I re-wrote what I remembered this to be – hopefully I got it all right.

So this month Shazza won the suggestion choice with her list of:

Distressing
Blue and brown
Ribbon/lace
Flowers
Stitching

Although I did not have the lovely range she suggested, I think you will agree that the IOD (CI) Beloved is just as gorgeous. Lovely soft blues, browns and creams. Just perfect for the sepia photo that was June’s Take 5 photo.

For the distressing I curled the edges of the blue base paper – it’s easy enough to do if you use a wet brush to damp down the paper first – and then I ripped some of the edges in a bit. The dark brown paper was distressed using my trusty Heidi Swapp edge distresser. To further distress this patterned paper I also pleated in one corner and used a ribbon to tie it up. Again – the easiest way to do this is to wet the paper first until it is easy to move – then scrunch it in – in the middle – to pleat it.

I’ve also used some co-ordinations cardstock for the little blue hearts that I have dotted here and there. A good rub over with a bit of sandpaper, a quick wipe-over with a grungy brown chalk ink and you have perfectly distressed hearts every time. (shhhh – I know giving them a coat of Kindyglitzkind of un-distresses them – but you gotta have some glitz).

And finally – the chipboard got a similar treatment. First a coat of a light cream ink and then grunged over with the brown. To finish it off I added a layer of Rock Candy Crackle Paint. Love the cool old-world feel that gives the chippy.

I’ve used ribbons and lace in several ways. There is a tiny blue satin ribbon that is tied in a bow around the crystal pin (on the right hand side of the layout) that holds the key and lock charms. Plus there is the one I mentioned previously tying the patterned paper corner in place. I also used that gorgeous May Arts Butterfly ribbon that Mary has in-store. Gorgeous, gorgeous ribbon it is. I’ve simply twisted the ribbon to make it look more interesting and coloured in the Butterfly with a little pale blue Twinkling H2O which was then grunged over with brown chalk ink.

The little heart you can see here next to the ribbon is one of the IOD sticker ones.

I made lace flowers from a little bit of lace left-overs I had lying around. They are very easy to make. Run a thread in and out along one edge of the lace and then pull – this bunches up the lace and curls it around. When you have enough to meet the other end (in a circle) you can stitch the two ends together and pop something in as a centre. A brad or Raja centre would work – but I like the little blue roses I popped into the centres of mine. I also tucked a couple of small bits of lace into the larger rips in the patterned paper edges.

Here you can see one of each of the different flowers I made.

The stitching is actually a tracing of the white butterfly flourishes on the brown patterned paper. I simply copied them and then pricked out the pattern onto the paper. You don’t want to know how long the stitching part took – believe me!

The flowers are all Prima white roses. I coloured them in with Frost Glimmermist or a pale blue (sorry – the name has worn off the jar) Twinkling H2O. The larger ones also got a grunging over with the brown ink. The small brown roses are also Prima – there’re old ones I have had for a while.

I used another feather Maggie. Lmao – this one came out of my feather doona (we have a small hole in it that leaks the odd feather now and again). Waste not, want not – the colour went well with the layout so I shoved it on – just next to the jewelled pin.

There are also two little silver charms from My2Angels on the pin – the cute little heart and locket. How sweet are they?? You can get them from Tracy here in her charm section.

So there we are ladies. I hope you like my interpretation of the challenge criteria. I love my layout and Madame adores it – so very happy campers here thank you.

Thanks everyone who made suggestions – they were all great. I hope you all come back to have a go at August’s Take 5. I can’t wait to see what you suggest.

One Response

  1. Beautiful & loving the details 🙂

Leave a Reply

