CC challenge layout (Prima Annalee)

So the Inspiration from Advertising cc is up and running.

I have Challenge 1 – and my source of inspiration was the packaging I got with a recent Prima purchase. Now they have always had lovely packaging – but this time they have outdone themselves. For the first time I found myself putting the flowers to one side and playing with the packaging instead.

My criteria are:

1. Must recycle some aspect of your scrap packaging.
2. A butterfly
3. The theme for the layout is change.

I’ve expanded on those criteria in the forum post here – but we would love for you to pop in and join us for a chance at winning a $15 store voucher.

And here is my layout:

The papers are from the new Prima Annalee range – just gorgeous aren’t they? I’ve only used the 2 pieces of double-sided paper on the layout and a sheet of French Silk Bazzill cardstock. Amazing what you can do with so little.

Oh – and ok – a few flowers and butterflies. 🙂

So check out that cardboard backing sheet first – how gobsmackingly gorgeous is that? Better than a lot of journaling die cuts out there. All I had to do was trim the brand name off the end and give it a bit of chalk ink along the edges and it was set to go.

I got the idea for the whole layout and colour combination from the fortuitous accident of putting the butterfly down on the packaging base while I looked at something else and then noticing how well they went together. It’s almost like they were made for each other.

Here’s a close-up of the butterfly – just look at that sparkle. I bought it off a lovely woman on Etsy called Kay – and her other butterflies are just as stunning. I got a selection of them (they come in sets of 3) and can’t wait to use them on other layouts. I can see me going back for more too.

The link to Kay’s store is here – so go check out her wonderful creations and buy some butterflies of your own. I found the shipping rate to be more than reasonable.

The flower cluster is a combination of an older Prima vine and some small white roses I altered myself. There are two shades of Twinkling H2O’s Sunset Glow and Playful Peony – and the Sunset Glow got a layer of Crystalina Kindyglitz over the top for added sparkle. I finally got to use my Webster’s Pages Sparkler somewhere too. The Olive Green crystal pin is from a collection of them that I got from Jo at Sugarsnapps.

This butterfly got a trail made from a rose and some flourishes cut from the pattern on the Ashton reverse side. The base of the layout is the same reverse side – all I did was use my Martha Stewart punch set to give it some interest. The dark chocolate French Silk cardstock provides a good base for this brighter paper. The next layer of paper is the centre section of the Sonnet paper. I cut the outside border out to use elsewhere on the layout and just inked the edges of the centre piece. I love the soft patterns and colours on this paper – the floral main side of it is just stunning too and I can’t wait to use that on another layout.

Another of those stunning butterflies – and here are the border pieces from the Sonnet paper. I used one strip as a base across the bottom of the page for the title and the rest I cut up to make a matting underneath the photo – with just a centimetre or so showing.

The alphas are some yummy Gothic ones from Scrapware and I coloured them in with some Choc. Cov. Cherries Glimmermist. This is the perfect colour for the pinks/reds in the layout, because the chocolate colour of the Glimmermist has a pinkish-red shimmer to it.

More of the Prima flowers and a Prima Pebble, together with a gold key charm are all that is needed to finish off this corner of the layout.

More Prima flowers and Pebbles and my own floral masterpiece!! After seeing the ones that Tracy at My2Angels made for me I couldn’t resist having a go myself. The outer parts of the flower are the Choc. Cov. Cherries Glimmermist, but to the inner layers I added a little Raspberry Alcohol Ink (Tim Holtz) to give a slightly pinker look to the centre. The little gold stamens that finish it off are also from Tracy.

The journaling (hidden behind the photo) is just an observation on how I started out with a little girl playing about with her pearls and wrapping herself up with some organza curtaining material into a cocoon – and ended up with this diva model child emerging out the other end of the fabric folds. Definitely not happy to see her growing up so fast. Change – anyone know how to stop it??

It would be great for you to join us at the cc – there are 2 other challenges to have a go at and games in the forum over the next week. And as always, there is the friendly natter in the forum. We’ve love to see you there.

2 Responses

  1. Beautiful – love your flower 😉

  2. You do absolutely beautiful work! This layout is lovely in so many ways…the colors, the design & of course the picture of your precious little girl! I’m so happy I asked for your blog address! Lovely work!

Leave a Reply

