Guest DT – Rose Moka (Mec)

Hi ladies – here is the first of the layouts I have done as a Guest DT this month at My2Angels. I think I have known Tracy as long as I have been scrapping. We both used to shop at the same store on the Coast and would meet at the classes there. She and her Mum would laugh at the fact I did mine without photos with me and I used to look at and buy (under the table of course) 😉 the lovely silver charms they brought with them. Lol – I still have some of those charms in my stash – but I am working my way through them.

I followed her to ebay (the Coast store had closed down by then) and finally – was very excited to see that she had opened her own online store. Whoo hoo – and of course it is going great guns now. I am thrilled to get this invite to come scrap some layouts for her and can’t wait to share them with you over the next month.

I had to laugh when Tracy told me the theme for my DT month was boys – with 3 teen males I figured it wouldn’t be too much of a problem coming up with suitable material.

Having a poke around in the store I found the Rose Moka Mec range for my first layout. It’s just perfect for this photo of my DS3 sitting out in the backyard in his camo gear. These much loved clothes now blend better with the rag pile than what’s in his cupboard, but there is no way he is giving them up yet. The state of his clothes suggested a grungy sort of layout – so distressing was the name of the game.

Often you get bits and pieces of patterned papers that are left over from other layouts – not enough to make something in their own right – but too much to bear throwing out. These are usually the bits that I use to make cards – but since I am not a card person that only happens when I have one that I actually need to make. I hate to throw anything out though –so usually the bits get put back with the papers and kept for later. Lol – a lot later. Mixing and matching them together to make a grunge layout is a great way of making sure they don’t go to waste.

I’ve ripped up bits and pieces of the Fort (I used both sides) and Positif papers and then mixed them up in layers with cardboard from a packing box and some bits of the Dusk paper (again – I used both sides) from Pink Paislee’s Twilight range.

The alphas you can see are Buzz and Bloom – the trusty Urban font, which I have inked to grunge them up a bit. The colour is a mix of the Tim Holtz Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink and an (name unknown) orange ochre Colorbok Chalk Ink. Together they were a perfect match to the orange-ish ochre colour of the Dusk reverse side. For a little added grunge I inked around the edges with a black chalk ink and swiped it lightly over the top of the alphas too.

The stamp is a Teresa Collins sporting one – but Tracy sold out of them before this layout was finished.


The main embellishments for the layout come from the Scrapware Army Men chipboard set. These are really cool – and to get that camouflage look to them I dabbed them with some blue (Tim Holtz Broken China) and lime (Luminarte Radiant RainKeylime) inks, which – where they blended – gave me a darker green third colour. Then to tone down the brightness (and the sparkle from the Radiant Rain – I mean who ever heard of sparkling army men??), I smudged a little black ink over them.

The tags (and also the flag on the other side of the layout) are also part of the Army Men set – again I have inked them and then added the symbol and writing (a rubon from somewhere??). The chain came off a clothing tag (thanks Veronica’s and Madame) and was just what I needed for the tags. A few twine cross-stitches here and there also help add to the grunge factor.

Here you can see that I varied the techniques I used with the patterned papers – tearing, inking, distressing, sanding – I used the lot. I also like the way that using the papers in small areas like this can allow you to include a paper you might not normally consider. The Dusk paper is a Halloween one – but with the words on the paper all ripped like they are, you cannot see that. Even the 31 fits here – though it has no significant meaning – it just looked good there. Lmao – to be honest the real reason that the reverse side of the Dusk paper is included at all is because I was looking for ‘something’ extra that the layout needed (it was almost done at that point – I was just gluing things on) – and then I noticed that the reverse side was almost the same colour as DS3’s hair – so yep, it had to go on there then. Shhh though – don’t ever tell him that.

So, I have a layout that is as grungy as the clothes and one very happy Tween. I hope the layout gives you the courage to gather up all your left-over bits or rip right into whole pieces to use together on your layouts.

I had great fun with this layout – so not my usual style – and a complete break from all the flowery goodness of Madame’s layouts. Next cab off the rank is DS2 – I think – possibly a good time to do the ‘Mutinous Much?’ layout I have been threatening him with. 😉

3 Responses

  1. Great Layout – you do the boy’s really nice 🙂

  2. What a great boy layout! I liked how you used the corrugated cardboard & the stitches you have. Also I really like the blue inking on the torn edges of paper. Wonderful work…

  3. I just totally love this layout Ngaire and so glad you joined us this month.
    Gosh it has been that long ah? We use to also laugh how you had to measure EVERYTHING exact but all in good fun 🙂
    Hope you do get to do the Mutinous Much layout it sounds fab 🙂

Leave a Reply

