Newsletter – Lush (Part 2)

Must be time to show the second layout from this range.

Interestingly – in using the Lush collection I have produced layouts that are not what I consider my traditional style. Year of the Rooster is much simpler than most of my work (the girly stuff anyway), and contains a lot more ‘space’ than I would normally use. I have also fallen back into my old habit of using a brighter patterned paper as a frame for the layout.

There is almost a little bit of everything from the range on this layout. Here you can see some of the patterned paper strips from the Maple paper where I have used them to make a nice title strip for my alphas. The green chipboard leaves are from the collection, but the flower and black chipboard pieces are sections cut from a Twiddleybitz branch and butterfly chippy. The rest of it is over on the right hand side of the photo. I will often cut up such pieces to make them better ‘fit’ the way I want to do my layout.

There is also a paper clip from the range, together with some shaped tags from the 6” Paper Pad. The little black chrysanthemum type flower you see is one I made myself from the small 5cm paper flowers Kaiser make. Trudy – who is on the DT there now I think put up how to make them ages ago but I have not had a chance to use them until now.

Aside from admiring my lovely little bronze Asian charm (shhh – it’s a phoenix and not a rooster), this close-up allows you to see the gorgeous shimmer from the spray of Coral Reef Glimmermist I gave to the patterned paper that forms my layout base. The Asian script characters are the stamp from the range and the glimmer on the chipboard flowers is due to some Tim Holtz Rock Candy Distress Stickles.

I originally had another embellishment here, but the chance pick-up of this little Scraplets chipboard fan was too perfect not to use on the layout. This time I muted the Coral Reef by rubbing over it with some white chalk ink, once the Glimmermist had dried. With the fine pattern on the fan I filled in the grooves in the chipboard with my trusty black Signo pen.

In keeping with my theme of little bits here and there- I inked only sections of the Asian script stamp and randomly stamped parts of it here and there on the layout. And yes – I do know that some of them are stamped upside down. It looked better that way – I will just hide this layout from anyone who is able to read it.

The journaling for this layout is popped behind the fan in one of the Maya Road Library Card Envelopes. I Glimmermisted it black to make it blend into the background and although I have not used the library card itself, there are some journaling cards I made in there that talk about how Madame was born in the Chinese Year of the Rooster and what personality traits she is supposed to have as a result. Lmao – supposedly she is honest and forthright, domineering but friendly and loves pretty clothes, talking and shiny jewellery – so maybe there is something in it after all.

Just a close-up of a lovely rubon from the Lush colour rubon pack – again I often cut up my rubons to use in different parts of the layout and this is a partial piece of a larger rubon. The original is simply too large for this little corner, but this snippet is the perfect size. And yes – stitching the fancy border took waaaay longer than it should have.

Oh – I almost forgot – those alphas – aren’t they gorgeous?? From Scrapware – some gothic script. Love em. Almost need to go back for more I have used them so often this month.

I have to find my last Lush layout now. Totally distraught – put it somewhere safe before I took photos and it is sooo safe I cannot find it. There is a card too – so I can put that up tomorrow.

2 Responses

  1. This is just beautifully designed…I especially like the stamping & the fan!

  2. Loving this & all the extra personnal touches !

Leave a Reply

