Lush Cards

Yeah, I know, things are a little quiet after the posting rush. It’s that time of the term – children who need to be supervised to make sure that assessment is done and on time. All the more important this term because we are about to venture off on our annual holiday to Mt Hotham. Whoo hoo – skiing photos. The only way I get through Xmas paper ranges – since I so suck at getting photos at Xmas.

I made two cards from the Lush range – one for Father’s Day and one as a general purpose card.

Kaisercraft’s Lush collection might not immediately spring to mind as one you could use for masculine cards, but the colour palette for the range is extremely versatile and can easily be used for both genders.

My Father’s Day card makes use of the ‘collection strips’ patterned paper that most ranges seem to have these days. Such a paper is a quick and easy way to get a variety of coordinating patterns that you only need in small amounts – in other words, they are just perfect for cards.

With the masculine theme in mind, I’ve kept the base of the card fairly neutral – using the dirty cream and grey patterned papers – and then used the strips and one of the Journal Tags as the main colour features. Some Kaiser pearls (Yellow and Black) here and there, a clip from the Lush range and a leaf pin from my stash provide all the needed embellishing.

In keeping with the oriental theme of the Lush range, I have also used the script and flower stamps to provide some interest to the relatively undecorated papers that form the base of the card. Using black ink for them allows me to have interest without it being too ‘fussy’.

The general purpose card is one that is quick and easy to make – you know me and cards!! The card itself is one of the ochre Bazzill colours with a wide strip of patterned paper over it. I’ve punched a contrasting paper with my Threading Water punch and then threaded twine through that for a little interest. It is a masculine looking card and the twine was more appropriate than ribbon. One of the name tags from the range gives you an obvious place to put whatever card sentiment you want on it. Mine is meant for my father-in-law and will have his name on it – which is why I am showing it to you without the sentiment. 😉

The cool flower on it was the technique for the week and I have shared instructions on how to make it in the forum at Ideal Papercraft. So check it out there if you like the look of the flower. It has a vaguely oriental feel to it which I thought suited the paper range. It’s actually a nifty little way to use up some paper scraps too.

One Response

  1. Lovely Ngaire… love that paper folding 🙂

Leave a Reply

