Spring into BG Olivia (cards week)

Spring. For a few glorious moments I have a stunning display of purple glory over my courtyard pergola as the Wisteria blooms profusely – then for weeks, I am cleaning up the rotting carpet of purple from my pergola pavers. If I am very lucky the bloom coincides with the arrival of the Westerlies – then the whole neighbourhood gets to sweep purple for weeks with me. 🙂 I don’t think I win neighbour of the month award that month. 😦

Just to give you an idea of it – here are some photos from literally the first full day of blooming –

But Spring also means baby animals, new green shoots and fresh flowers generally – not just my Wisteria. So what better card for Spring then, than a baby card that combines all of these. Olivia from Basic Grey is a sweet baby girl range filled with pinks, greens and pale aqua blue, set off against neutral white and black. With all the cute little baby animals and flowers, there is plenty of choice to use as a focus for a card.

I’ve chosen to combine strips from several of the patterned papers as the background to my card, with a chipboard animal/flower as the card focus. One of the journaling spots from the Die Cut Shapes pack provides a base for the card sentiment – the alphas of which are from the Olivia Card Kit.

Although it is difficult to see from the photo – I’ve Kindyglitzed the green part of the flower, which gives it a pretty sparkle. A little stitching helps to soften the edges of the white cardstock and some lace flowers (cut from the ribbon Mary stocks in the store) fill in the empty space.

Both the lace flowers and the title alphas were misted with Strawberry Shortcake Chalkmist – this is a stunning pink – and just a perfect match with this range. The glimmer is a little more subdued than the Glimmermist, but you do get a lovely soft glimmer.

So welcome to Spring – and go check out Olivia and the Chalkmist for yourself in the Ideal Papercraft store.

One Response

  1. Nice card !! love your wisteria looks beautiful – wouldn’t be complaining if it was next to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

