Olivia – a layout for me

I needed a break from all the boy layouts lately (and I am still working on more for my newsletter next week) – so I took time out to play with Olivia and a photo I have been meaning to scrap ever since I took it – but have just not gotten around to.

Although it was meant to be a quick, easy break from my more complex layouts – I again choked at dealing with the ‘whitespace concept’. Lmao – why is it the “less is more” approach takes me soooooo long to do, when the “more is more” is so easy? I had the basics down for it in minutes and then agonised for hours on the small details. Ah well, how ever long I spent on it – I love the final layout.

Love, Love, love this paper – Marissa – this is the one I bought the collection to get hold of. With all the funky graffiti on it there is not a huge lot of embellishing needed for a stunning layout.

I cropped the paper in a little to allow for a black (Raven) cardstock frame – and then I filled most of the empty middle space with the photo. It’s slightly out of focus – but I just love the look on her face and the feeling of total abandon – so I had to scrap it. Black and white works well for out of focus shots – and that suited the patterned papers too.

You’ll have to excuse the slightly out-of-focus look of my main photos at the moment – it has been overcast and cloudy for the past week or so here and getting a clear photo needs a flash – which reflects onto the photo in the layout. So I am having to set the camera for non-flash and I lose a little clarity when that happens. The close-ups tend to be ok as I can go back to flash for them.

There is really only the one patterned paper used here – though there are some strips of Kembrie that I have border punched to add a colour splash here and there and the wings on the heart are from Marabelle.

With the paper itself providing much of the interest factor – I’ve kept the embellishments to several small clusters. The first of these I’ve overlaid on some of the ‘empty’ space on the photo. The die cut chipboard base is from the Card Kit and I traced the wings that were in that kit over some spare Marabelle paper to make my own wings.

I am finding that with the BG collections I like – it is worth getting the card kit as well. Not only do you have some ‘instant’ cards – but there are also bits and pieces that you don’t get in the usual collection (like the ‘sweet’ and ‘angel’ alphas and the photo corners) that make fantastic additions to your layouts. I can always make my own bits for cards – but having the little ‘extras’ embellies is a huge bonus to the layouts.

The chipboard heart is one from my stash and both it and the wings got a generous spray of Strawberry Shortcake Chalkboard mist – (ok – as you can see the heart got a very generous spray, the wings not so much). I also sprayed the “angel’ alphas with the same colour, but the “sweet” alphas got a coat of Cotton Candy Chalkboard mist.

That image gives you a clear shot of the cluster – but when you use the flash you can better see the shimmer from the Mist. I find that Kindyglitz and Glimmermist are often hard to show clearly in photos – if someone knows some good tips for fixing this I would love to hear from you. So here it is with the flash.

I’m also in love with those cute little Small Details Stickers that Basic Grey have put out with the new ranges – wish they had thought of them a long time ago. The little bit of rubon you can see on the heart and near the “angel’ alphas are left-over bits from the strip I used elsewhere on the layout. It’s an old Kaisercraft one they bought out for weddings. I’ve been meaning to use some rubons on every layout that I do – since I have a HUGE stash of them and they do have a use-by date on them. I think I would cry if I found that I have a gorgeous stash of totally useless rubons.

At the bottom of the layout I made another cluster using a sticker from the Element Stickers Pack, which I then overlaid over a border punched bit of black cardstock and Kembrie. The chipboard heart is another old one from my stash – this time given a coat of black ink and Black Kindyglitz . The flower is one I made from muslin (thanks Tracy for showing me how) and sprayed with Strawberry Shortcake Chalkboard mist.

Just above the cluster you can see the end of the border punched strip under the photo. The black section is simply Raven cardstock with Black Kindyglitz over it and the pinky-red is the Kembrie. The grey photo corner is a chipboard one from the Card Kit and the pale pinky glimmer you see on it is from the light spray of Cotton Candy Chalkboard mist that I applied to it.

The delicate black alphas are ancient ones from Scrap FX – so old that I used to buy them from them when they were on ebay – and how long ago is that now?? I don’t think they even make them anymore – but I wish they did, because I love them and they come in both a large (shown) and small size.

More of my hand-made muslin flowers are in a cluster under the photo. How cool are those little flower stamens? Just love ‘em. Tracey sells them in her store for a pittance – so you should check them out at My2Angels – they come in the cream you see here and in gold and silver too. The lace flowers are part of a ribbon in the Ideal Papercraft store and have been coloured with Strawberry Shortcake Chalkboard mist and given a black rhinestone as a centre. The Kaiser rhinestones I have used are the strips Mary had in a while back – as you can see on the main photo I also used them as strips to border 2 edges of the photo. I need to get me some more, as these were the last I had.

In some ways it’s a leftovers layout – I’ve used bits of this and that here and there to use them up. So the leftovers of the rhinestones went on the flowers and with the border punched cardstock. The rubons fragments went on the chippy heart and around the alphas. Doing this helps to link your layout together with common elements, as much as it uses up all those tiny leftovers.

The title alphas are also Basic Grey – those horrid White Choc Chip ones that are plastic coated and almost impermeable to all attempts to alter their colour. These ones got the big guns pulled out – when the distress ink failed to give a good coating – they got alcohol inked to death. Then a lovely glittery coat of Black Kindyglitz was applied.

So that’s my play with Olivia for this month – though I can see me coming back for more sometime later. Not sure I will ever use it for baby photos – personally I think you could easily use it for any age. Just a quick tip – if the pink does not suit you – there is a cool pastel-y aqua blue version of this paper in the range Eliza – (though sadly, Mary is out of stock of that paper) that with the other aqua blue papers in the range can be used to make a blue version of this layout.

So that is me and girls for the moment. Back to the boys with the final layout for Tracy and then the long-awaited and much anticipated Bo Bunny Cambridge – which I lourve!! – and have been eagerly waiting for. I am cheating though – I have a layout for Madame in there using the Cambridge – a lovely grungy one with flowers, but you will have to wait until next week to see that.

One Response

  1. Gorgeous Layout… love pink/black/white & this is gorgeous:)

Leave a Reply

