Newsletter – Bo Bunny – Cambridge (Part 1)

Yeah I know – I wax lyrical about every range I get to play with (mostly cause I’m lucky enough to get the ranges I love), but this time even I’m surprised with just how great a range the Bo Bunny Cambridge is. Not since LYB’s Generation Z has there been such a good range for masculine layouts. In particular, I’m loving the rich jewel colours (ruby, sapphire, emerald, and topaz) that are matched so well with the grungy off-white creams, browns, ochres and black.

The paper patterns are complex and layered – there is a solid ‘shape’ base to them (diamonds, stars, flourishes, wings, chain wire, and heraldic symbols) which is overlain by the grungy splatters and brush strokes. This depth to the pattern gives you a lot to work with as a scrapper and allows for a wide range of scrapping styles to be accommodated. With the newsletter layouts this month I have tried to cover a few different styles – this being a more formal layered approach – to show how well the Cambridge works.

For my first layout – Leave a Trail – I started the layout with the journaling prompt from the Cut Outs paper. Doing that set the colours I needed to use – making the Dot (reverse side) paper the starting point as the base of the layout. To provide a contrast I then made a mat from the Crest (reverse side) paper, giving it a border punched edge at the bottom for interest and making sure to ‘cut’ into the Griffin image from the pattern so I could tuck the photo under it.

(apologies on the clarity of the photos – it has been raining for over a week here and it is very hard to get decent photos at the moment)

With papers like these, that have a lot of their complex pattern around the outside of the paper, you need to work with layering to make the most of them. This is more obvious in the next layout – but even on this one you can see that I have cut the upper mat small enough that it reveals the rich ruby red of the base paper (with its pattern of stars and a partial crown at the bottom and splodgy circles at the top) and the grungy black ‘brush strokes’ that borders it.

The cream ledger paper pattern gives me a good contrast to the colours of the base paper and also allows me to use this space for coloured alphas (which would get lost on the other darker paper) and to do some journaling. The title uses the Scrapware Antique Uppercase chipboard alphas – which are ideal for this range. The whole medieval script style is just a perfect match for the Cambridge range.

To get the ‘finish’ on the alphas I inked them with an ochre and a maroon-red chalk ink and then lightly smeared some Crystalina Kindyglitz over that and ‘set’ it with a heat gun. This removes most of the ‘glitz’ and leaves you with a rainbow shimmer of colour. It also gives a textured look to the chipboard.

To help ‘fill in’ the space I’ve popped the “a” from the title onto a hand made tag. Using the Cobalt paper I traced out a small tag (using one of the sticker tags as a template) over an interesting part of the pattern. All you need to do to finish it off is ink the edges, apply a little Crystalina Kindyglitz along some of the pattern and pop your alpha on top. Underneath it I’ve put the chipboard wings from the 12 x 12 Chipboard Shapes collection. The gold stars around it are also from that Chipboard Shapes collection. The stars are really cool – and along with the small coloured brads are an item that I wish there was more of in the pack.

The shield is a ‘bonus’ one that you can cut out from the back cover of the Noteworthy Journaling Pad and after cutting it out all I have done is inked it and put it on with some pop dots. It is slightly shiny – the cover seems to be slightly plasticised – but not to the extent that it detracts from the shield. The copper brad in the middle is one from the iCandy Brads pack, as are the smaller coloured ones just next to it.

To help ‘pick up’ the darker colours that dominate the base paper I have added some punched edges and thin strips of the Stripe paper here and there around the ledger mat. This also helps to tie the different parts of the layout to the die cut journaling prompt, which also features these striped strips. The punch is the Bracket one from Fiskars – the same as the bottom of the ledger paper.

The green diamonds at the top of the layout are from the Argyle paper and were added to provide interest and contrast to the red base paper in an area where there was no real pattern to it. You don’t need to do this at the bottom of the layout, as there is that star pattern there to provide interest.

Filling in the last of the empty space on my ledger sheet is a hinge I cut from Grunge Paper using my Tim Holtz Hardware Findings die. I ran this through the Cuttlebug and it worked fine without needing any extra ‘bits’. This was inked and then some Ranger Peeled Paint Distress Stickles was applied and left to dry. That gives the lovely textured/rusty look the hinge has. Time constraints meant I have to put this up without the final touch – I wanted some copper brads to put through the hinge holes, but have not had a chance to get them. With a bit of Ranger Peeled Paint Distress Stickles I am sure they will look great.

The other empty space got my journaling – printed out using an appropriate font. There are a lot sites that offer free fronts around and a quick search should locate something suitable to use.

After all the boy layouts I did last month, I thought I might be a little jaded doing these ones > – but I found the papers very easy to work with and really enjoyed doing this layout (all of them actually). I can definitely see me getting some replacements papers so that I have some in my stash for later inspiration.

Cambridge is one of those ranges that although theme based, is appropriate for a wide range of layouts. If you really wanted to, you could completely ignore the whole knight/heraldic theme and use the reverse sides of the papers to create your layouts. It’s the rich colours and the complexity of the patterns that really make this range stand out.

Mary has them on sale in the store this week – so check out the range in the store and do yourself a favour. You won’t be disappointed.

2 Responses

  1. WOW !! you sure did the paper justice… fab Ngaire 🙂

  2. I love this! You do the best masculine layouts!

Leave a Reply

