Newsletter – Bo Bunny – Cambridge (Part 2)

My second layout with Cambridge Her Knight Protector – makes much more use of the grungy nature of the papers in the range. Matching up and making the most of the pattens along the edges of the reverse sides of the Stripe and Cambridge papers was a big element in the design of the page. Again I have chosen to use a darker coloured paper as the base, with a lighter coloured paper over it as a mat for the rest of the layout.

Loving both these papers – the richness of the blue in real life is just awesome. The greenish/grungy cream is a great contrast to the blue and the patterns on both are just wonderful. Both the the papers and the photo have been sanded back along the edges to give them a more grungy look – I like using this technique on boy pages – you can do it in designs that are more linear and layered or torn/ripped and it looks good no matter what.

Before you ask – yes I know my daughter’s face is out of focus – the shot was taken this way deliberately. Although the layout is about his relationship with her and the role he plays in her life, DS2 is the focus of the layout and I wanted the photo to reflect that. For those that are curious on how to get that look – I used the ‘close-up’ auto setting on my camera and focussed it on his face. On my camera (a Canon) this is given as the little ‘flower’ icon.

And yes – the images are still crummy – it has been raining for over a week now and I swear my camera has moss growing on it. I’m ready to rip my hair out by the roots unless it fines up soon.

Border punching some of the Crest paper with my Iron Gate Martha Stewart border punch gives me a couple of decorative strips to put around the edges of the mat for interest/contrast. It also allows me to add in an additional colour – the ruby red – that I knew I wanted to use for some of the embellishments.

I LOVE the embellishment at the top of the page. Originally I had a plain cog – which was nice but not quite what I was looking for. Then my order from Mary arrived and in it I found some of the new Steampunk inspired chipboard from Twiddleybitz. Oh my – when these arrive in the store, get out of my way. I am so getting some more of these little beauties. This one was just perfect for what I wanted here and so off came my horrid little cog and on went this lovely.

I’ve inked it with a combination of 2 different blue chalk inks that match some of those in the background paper. A little Ranger Walnut Stain Distress Stickles over the top and a zap from my heat gun and whallah – one small piece of grungy loveliness. Over it are some wings stamped (I used the wings stamp from the Cambridge range) onto the Chess paper and a Grunge Paper heart that is from the Heart Wings dies set by Tim Holtz. The final touch is a brad from the iCandy Brad pack.

Bo Bunny have again included a wonderful booklet of journaling die cut pages in this range – the Noteworthy Journaling Pad – and as a bonus – the cover of this booklet is now an embellished transparency page. After cutting mine off the booklet I trimmed off the edges and added it over the top of one of the die cut pages. Way cool Bo Bunny – I can’t wait to see what the other new books look like to see what is on the front of them.

The blue ribbon threaded through the left of the layout is from the Newsprint Wraps pack – it’s one of three ribbon/material strips that come with their own small embellishment. The blue ribbon came with the small pearl pin you see there. The silver fleur-de-lyse charm is from my stash, as is the Griffin brad (Marah Johnson) at the top of the ribbon.

The fleur-de-lyse charm is actually meant for a necklace – I found someone on ebay having a big sale and their pewter/silver charms were all half-price – so they ended up being about the same as you would pay for a scrapping charm only bigger and better. DS2 is rather fond of the fleur-de-lyse – so I have been saving this one for a layout for him. He has another that he wears on a black leather cord (this is how they came when I bought them) when he is doing his ‘cool teen’ look. 🙂

.

The alphas in the title are a combination of some old Buzz and Bloom ones from my stash and the previously mentioned Scrapware Antique Uppercase. I know I have been using these ones of late – on almost everything it seems – but they are a great font and do suit the recent ranges I have worked with. Because the papers in the layout are so ‘busy’ pattern-wise, I choose to leave the alphas simpler this time – with only a single base colour (red – olive) with some grunging over with black. The tag for the first word in the title is was also made by me – again by tracing out one of the sticker tags onto patterned paper. A little glitz’ and a chipboard star and you have a lovely little tag with very little effort required.

The last empty space in the layout went to the journaling. Again computer printed, but this time onto some patterned paper strips, which were then further matted onto some ruby-red Crest paper to highlight them. A chipboard lion from the 12 x 12 collection , the last of my small coloured brads and the layout is complete.

Speaking of the brads – usually I have a heap of them left over, but this time I wish they had included a lot more of these small coloured ones – they were so easy to use with the papers that I could have used a lot more than I did.

I was pretty happy with my first layout from the range – but this one is special. I just love the way it all blends in together. DS2 is pretty happy with it as well – which is always a good thing.

2 Responses

  1. Love that blue ribbon and how effect is your “small piece of grungy loveliness”
    YAH fine weather today WOO HOO hmm but for how long?

  2. Ooooh this is like Romeo & Juliet – gorgeous – love this so much. One day they will look back at this and smile as much as I am smiling now 🙂 beautiful !

Leave a Reply

