Newsletter – Bo Bunny – Cambridge (Part 3)

Oops – sorry – have been very busy and totally forgot to get this one up. 😦

Just when you thought that Cambridge was a purely masculine range – here is a girly one that will hopefully change your mind. The Queen of Make Believe might be full of the same olive-greens and dirty-creams that I used for my boy layouts, but this time there is lots of glitter and glitz; ruffles and even flowers to give it that feminine touch.

The die cut paper for Cambridge Crown – is a stunner. As much as I wanted to use all of it, I made the hard decision to cut it up and only use the top half. This went over a sheet of the Stripe paper (reverse side), angled so that the interesting parts of the pattern of the base paper (such as the wing and the checkerboard) were still showing. To the white splatters only, I added a touch of Kindyglitz to make them sparkle.

Tucked under the left side of the photo is a journaling tag from the Cut Outs paper. I’ve inked around the edges of it and then run my Heidi Swapp Edge Distresser over the edge to shabby it up a little. It’s attached to the page with a couple more of the copper brads from the Cambridge collection. There are a variety of patterns on these, but I have used a matched pair with a fleur-de-lyse pattern.

Then I’ve taken a strip of the Post patterned paper and run it through my scalloped paper trimmer. After inking lightly with an ochre and olive chalk ink, I’ve misted it with water and folded it into pleats. Using the heat gun to dry it helps to ‘set’ the pleats into the paper – making handling much easier. To make it a little less grungy and more girly, I’ve applied a little Kindyglitz to the pleats to finish them off. (I rather like the way it turned out, so I added a couple more around other edges of the photo.) A chipboard banner, one of the larger brads and some rhinestones for the crown make a nice little feature over the pleats.

The flowers are the technique for this week – they are super easy to make, totally individual and a great way to use script patterned papers (well, any patterned papers really, but they do look good when you make them with script paper) – so check out my instructions on how to do them in the forum (will go up over the weekend).

Oh oh – have just realised I did not put this up last weekend -oops – will do so asap – sorry guys but this last week has been a total disaster at our place and I have been distracted. Will fix this up as soon as I can.

I’ve used an assortment of flowers I made from the patterned paper and some muslin material – with both being inked with an olive green and ochre chalk ink. No two flowers are exactly the same and that is part of their charm I think. There are several clusters of them around the layout – generally filling in some of the empty space or helping to hide some of the paper/photo edges.

More of those yummy Scrapware alphas for the title and one of the sticker tags from the Cardstock Stickers sheet. There are two of these – one with Knight related words and another with Rock Star words. The chipboard stars around the title come from the 12 x 12 Chipboard Stickers sheet.

I’ve again used the wings stamp – this time using white ink on a transparency sheet. When that was dry I applied a thick coat of Crystalina Kindyglitz for some very angelic looking wings. Madame was complaining that her new ‘pink princess’ costume needed wings (it’s a fairy princess you see) – but this is the best I can do for her at the moment.

Although that is the last of the layouts I did for the newsletter – I can really see me doing more layouts with this range. Just love, love, love it. With the Harry Potter range from CI coming out soon, I can hopefully see some cross-overs between them – keeping my fingers crossed that the colours are suitable. Mary still has stock for almost all the Cambridge range still in store – so grab some for yourself and have a play.

2 Responses

  1. Beautiful LO with the “girly” feel – those flowers look awesome Ngaire, I love them & especially the colours you used & how you have placed them 🙂

  2. Oooh the wings look great too !

Leave a Reply

