Missing Lush

Yep – I know – I’ve been a slack blogger again lately. Have been busy sorting out the mess in my scrap room after the Cambridge fun and then doing the planning for a mini album series (1 for each term) for Madame’s year in Prep. Rather more involved in it than I originally thought – but wonderful to see all the photos they have been taking of her at school.

I lost this layout. 😦 Had it all done for the newsletter and then just could not find it when it was time for photos. Found it the other week all nicely tucked away with all my other layouts awaiting an album. It’s so hard to pay good money for albums when you could be buying Prima or other yummy things. Sigh – but I need to do something with them all eventually.

The bight colours of the Lush range are so easy to work with. The neutrals in the range allow you to use them as a bright ‘pop’ of colour. The orange reverse side of the Bonzai paper would have to be my favourite for this. Together with the cream and grey of the other papers (Lotus and Bamboo) and a little black for highlights – the orange just leaps off the page at you. And together they were just perfect for the colours in my photo of Madame and one of her hair band bows. She loves bows and has been in a hair band phase for a while now – so these are just the bee’s knees according to her. Luckily for her most of her Gymboree clothes had one for each of their ranges – so she has a pile of them in different colours. Lol – how I – with wash-and-wear-and-put-into-a-ponytail hair ever got a daughter like this I will never know?

I’ve kept the layout fairly simple – well okay, as simple as I can manage it. I’ve used some strips from the reverse side of the Maple paper and overlaid them over one another to make two feature strips at the top and bottom of the page. To one I added a clip from the range and to the other I combined some of the Die Cut Elements with a flower cut from paper from the 8 x 8 Paper Pad. Both got a strip of the Kaiser Black Rhinestone Strip next to them – just wishing I had some more of these, as they are very useful.

To frame the photo I used a collection of flowers cut from the 8 x 8 Paper Pad and some stamping onto transparency using one of the stamps from the range. Stamping onto the transparency allows you to move the stamped image around and cut it up for placement and this is easier to do with the transparency, rather than fiddling around trying to stamp onto the layout in the right place. That gorgeous orange flower is from the Chipboard set – which I have very little left of now.

The stamp set for this range is very cool – I love both the characters and the floral bits.

I have no idea where I got the love title – but isn’t it sweet? Just some black ink on it to finish it off and it stunning against the orange paper.

I’ve also included one of the Journal Tags, on which I have printed part of the title onto. Love these tags – this one in particular is stunning. Here and there I did some simple cross stitches, just to break up some of the straight lines. The chippy alphas are from my stash and have also just been given a coat of black ink to decorate. Keeping your title clean and simple, along with the rest of the layout design, allows the colours of the papers to stand out.

Lush is definitely worth a look at, so if you haven’t done so already, check out the entire range now.

Currently I am working on something completely different – several definitely cluttered and fussy layouts from Webster’s Pages new Hollywood Vogue range. Mary has just popped them up into the store – so I would be quick in getting in there to browse around – as this range will sell fast – I promise!! 🙂

The mid-month challenge is also underway – this month it’s a Blind Scrap – so pop into the forum and check out the instructions. You have until Nov 15th to get your take on the instructions up in the gallery to be in with a chance at winning a prize.

The 12 Cards to Christmas Competition is also underway – this being week 2. Mary has a gorgeous prize up for grabs and there are 2 challenges each week to complete. Entry into the competition is easy and each card you submit gets you a ticket in the draw.

So with lots happening in the forum and Mary uploading new stock all the time – Ideal Papercraft is the place to be this month!!

2 Responses

  1. This came out so pretty! The combination of orange & black really looks nice. I like the stitching & the title. Fabulous work as always.

  2. This is a lovely combo of colours & Madame looks gorgeous with that ribbon in her hair. 🙂

Leave a Reply

