Hollywood Vogue – Newsletter layout 1

The new Hollywood Vogue range is one I have been waiting to get my hands on ever since the sneaks for it came out. The colours for the range – teal, sage green, blush pink, black, cream and lilac – are a gorgeous combination of colours and work very well together. Webster’s have their usual variety of embellishments to go with the range – alpha, image and phrase stickers, journaling cards and various fabric trims – and for the first time – some stunning little resin hearts and flowers they have called Whimsies.

For my first layout – Paris Chic – I’ve gone with the purples and teals in the range. A lot of my daughter’s clothes are from an American company called Gymboree. One of her (and my) favourite lines from this company is called European Vacation – and the Hollywood Vogue range is just a perfect match for some photos I had taken of her in one of her favourite lilac outfits. The clothes have small Eiffel towers on them and french words along with a cute little poodle and bird. All very ‘tre chic’.

There are only two papers used on this layout – Shine a light and Feather Fashion (reverse). The reverse side of both of these are probably the most versatile patterns in the range – a stripe that includes all the colours and a black/white houndstooth pattern. The repeated small/general pattern they have allows you to provide a contrast to the flower/shape based larger patterns of the other papers.

For this layout I have border punched around the Feather Fashion paper to give a decorative edge to the base sheet. I used the Deco Fan PATP punches from Martha Stewart. Trimming the Shine a Light paper down a little allows me to show off that decorative border and make a feature of the chandelier pattern – which I did by half cutting it out.

When I trimmed the top edge of the paper down I did so by cutting around the pattern that was there. To cover up this cut I put a couple of small Prima flowers (from several years ago – they came in small silver tins) and a Glimmermisted (Deep Plum) chipboard vine (no idea which company it is) over the empty space next to the chandelier. I love those spiky flowers – wish you could get more of them – the colours are so luscious and vivid.

The piece of patterned paper cut out from the top of the Feather Fashion paper went into the bottom right corner. It’s up on pop-dots, which allows me to insert half a piece of Dusty Attic chipboard and some Prima flowers underneath it. The chippy has been given a coat of Riptide Glimmermist to match the teal in the paper. Although some of the flowers are the older Prima ones I mentioned, the larger purple flowers are one of the new vines (Mountain Lily) pulled apart into two (I’ve used the rest of it elsewhere on the layout). The black cross charm is by Blue Moon and it has a Kaisercraft Aquamarine Rhinestone centred on it. The gorgeous turquoise heart you can see on the Dusty Attic Eiffel Tower is one of the Whimsies made for the Hollywood Vogue range.

Moving round the page I’ve tucked just a couple of Prima flowers into the corner on the left (the purple rose is from the new Sugar Plum range) along with a Pink Paislee Artisan Elements (Ornaments) which has been Glimmermisted with Riptide. Love these – they come in an ivory-white colour so you can colour them with almost anything and they come up a treat. You might need to put a couple of layers of mist on them to get the strength of colour you want – and you can always rinse it off in some water if the colour comes out too strong. Loving what I have done with the so far and can see me using them on other layouts.

The sticker alphas come in two sizes and a range of colours. The larger ones are the teal you see here. There’s more of the Prima vine and the small clear beads you see tucked into it are ones that came in a RAK – as is the stunning purple pin. All I did with the beads is cut them into a short length and wind them in and around the wire curly bits of the vine. They needed a spot of glue to hold their place on the layout but I like the way they add a pretty and glam touch to the flowers.

In this image you can see the way I have clustered the embellishments around the photo. That’s one of the journaling cards tucked under on the left-hand side (I’ve written on the back and it just slides out from under the photo) with some Prima flowers on it. The Paris Postmark is one of a pair made by Dusty Attic. Together with the Eiffel Tower on the other side they were just perfect for my photo. And isn’t the Whimsey just to die for – I wish they would sell bulk packs of just one colour – they are just so cute and so easy to use.

This would have to be my fav Webster’s Pages range in a while – not just the colours – but also the patterns. It was nice to be able to use up some of my older stash as well as all the lovely new products. I’ve had a ball for the past 2 weeks working with the Hollywood Vogue range – it is all that it promised to be in those first sneak peeks. The only paper I haven’t used is the die cut – and that is only because I ran out of time. Treat yourself this Christmas and get some Vogue, I can promise you that you won’t be sorry you did.

2 Responses

  1. What a fabulous layout! It’s beautifully designed. Luv how you embellished those chippies–especially the eiffel tower…

  2. Beautiful !!

Leave a Reply

