Hollywood Vogue – Newsletter layout 2

For my second layout – Stars in her Eyes – I have focussed on the teal/blue/green/cream combination of the range. The photo was a happy accident from the photo shoot where I was trying to get the photo of her houndstooth dress – and even though she has some houndstooth pattern showing, I didn’t want to feature that, I wanted to show off her beautiful blue eyes and the blue-grey (with greenish tinges) of the weathered wooden fence behind her. So I used Stardom as my base paper and then added bits and pieces cut from other papers to embellish it. Foo on Film and the reverse side of Stardom provided the two mats you see under the photo.

A special mention on the sticker chandelier – mwah to Karlene who happened to be there the day I was working on this and RAKed me the perfect embellishment to fill in an empty space. From memory – it’s from one of the Halloween ranges put out by Michael’s – but it was just perfect sweetie – many thanks.

From Double Feature I cut out the camera/flower cluster and tucked that underneath a black chipboard dress form (I think it is Dusty Attic), a single teal Bloomer rose, some Whimsies, Prima flowers and a black faceted drop (from Blue Moon) I had in my stash. The clapper-board also came from the Double Feature paper.

The trick to tying a layout together is repetition – of texture, colour and embellishment. So you will see that most of the embellishments here (the pink and blue rose, the teal bloomer, the black teardrop, the piece of teal ribbon) are repeated in the various clusters around the layout. The little black droplet was a huge find at Spotlight – who had all their Blue Moon charms 40-55% off (whoo hooo) – just remember to look for them in the jewellery section and not in the scrapping section.

A close-up here lets you see how well the textures and colours work together in this little cluster. Love how lush that teal is.

To the bottom left of the photo I have added more of the same. A head and some roses cut from the Double Feature paper are arranged in and about the Prima flowers, Whimsies, faceted drop and a bit of chipboard vine I am not sure who makes. To get that yummy blue-black you see on the chipboard I combined some Riptide and Black Magic Glimmermist. The small bit of teal ribbon you can see there belongs to one of the gorgeous trims from the Hollywood Vogue Trim Pack.

Again – this close-up lets you see the textures in the cluster. I love the richness all those different textures gives the layout.

Up the top of the layout I put the mixed alpha title – some alpha stickers from the Hollywood Vogue range, some very old Making Memories rubons and the small version of the Scrapware Antique Alphas Uppercase that Mary has in stock. The chipboard has a simple coat of Olive Vine Glimmermist on it as that part of the layout is already complex enough. The black sparkler you see in the middle is one of the Vintage Sparklers and the bit of chipboard flourish is half of one I cut in two (the other half is under the photo).

Putting part of the title into the corner paper pattern helps to link that into the layout – plus it gives me room enough for a longer title than the space at the top of the photo allows. The embellishments in that corner are smaller as well because this is already a ‘full’ corner and I wanted room for the title.

I totally ran out of room for journaling on this layout – oops – but that’s ok, I can do that on one of the others from this photo shoot. With this one anyway I think you focus more on her face than you do on anything else – well I do anyway.

I’ll be posting the 3rd layout in this series in a couple of days, so check back then for a very non-Webster’s Pages layout.

One Response

  1. Love the colours & great LO

Leave a Reply

