The Magic of Harry Potter (Creative Imaginations) – layout 1

According to Madame, there is not a surface that cannot be improved with the application of a few (read as many as will fit) stickers. She is a devout follower of this mantra and on a regular basis I need to cull the sticker population from the various surfaces around my house (and car and person). So she was (amazed and) delighted to see me playing with stickers this week or so – not just a few, but many, many stickers. I’m not sure I am as much a fan as she is – but I must admit that playing with stickers can be fun (though as with anything – physicians advise that moderation is best).

Yes it’s Harry Potter time at my place and stickers are the go. Calling all fans of the book series and movies – we have sticker witches hats, sticker lightning bolts, sticker potion bottles, sticker broomsticks, cauldrons, wands and … – you name something in the movies and Creative Imaginations has the sticker for it. In fact there are stickers for things I don’t even remember from the movies, but there you go. Obviously I need to go back and check them out again.

As I said, I’m not normally a sticker person, but I have to admit to having a lot of fun with the ones from this range. The papers themselves are cool too – including the Hogwarts Express, a Daily Prophet headline, the totally cool die cut Marauders Map (guess which one got universal approval from my boys), a really neat die cut scroll, various school badges and a lovely misty grey scene of Hogwarts – all of which have co-ordinating repeated patterns on the reverse side. There are rubons, die cuts and a set of chipboard shapes (mostly house crests and Quidditch equipment) – but the rest of the embellishments are stickers: layered, epoxy, alphas and several sets of totally addictive Pottermania stickers. Ssshhhh – don’t tell Hubby – but there are also some wax seal stickers coming from America – but we won’t tell him that will we??

Since I don’t normally use them much, I thought I would try and see how many stickers I could put on the one layout and still leave room for a photo. Lol – as you can see, The Magic of Harry Potter manages to use quite a few. I started with a sheet of Harry Potter Banner as my layout base – as it has a fairly empty space in the pattern. Wanting to repeat the creamy brown colour used in that paper, I cut up a part of the die cut Scroll paper and used that to mat my photo, tucking it under a star pattern from the base paper. Cool paper the scroll – I wanted to see if I could roll it and make an actual scroll on the layout – but the stickers kind of got in the way of that idea – shame – I bet it would look cool.

Then it was simply a matter of choosing stickers I liked, varying the type and arranging them in groups that framed the photo of DS2 reading the first book in the series (he was preparing himself to see the latest movie by re-reading the entire series). What REALLY makes these stickers work so well is that you can layer them over each other, as well as putting some of the flat ones up on pop-dots to give them dimension.

There are a huge number of picture frames in the die cuts – various shapes and sizes – which I did puzzle over for a bit, until I remembered that pictures in the Harry universe are pretty special – which, by extension, obviously must mean the frames are too. But don’t be daunted by this – there are lots of things you can do with these frames to add interest to your layout. Here I have taken one of the die cuts (a wanted poster for Harry) and cut it down to size before matting it with some patterned paper and then popping it under one of the frames.

More stickers – did I tell you there are a lot to choose from in this range??? – and another use for one of the die cut frames. This time I have matted the frame with some left-over patterned paper and then simply popped the Hedwig die cut into it on an angle to fill in the frame space. Around about this time I went into panic mode – since I had achieved my sticker goal a little more spectacularly than I had originally thought I would. It was time to order more stickers in from Mary – since I had used almost 2 whole sheets for this layout and a considerable number from the die cut shapes and even some chipboard pieces. Lol – I told you stickers are addictive.

To finish off the layout – surprise, surprise, more stickers – this time some of the alphas. Love the whole lightning bolt font thing – very nice touch. And yes – you are right, they are a pair of Harry Potter themed charms on that tag. A winged key and snitch to be exact (god I love ebay for all things eclectic and downright strange), helps obsessive nuts like me no end. I’ll talk about the tag itself in a moment – but it has all the journaling for this layout on it and was a labour of love in itself to make.


The charms are actually part of some very lovely earrings I got off ebay from a lovely lady called Pat. For the price, they are simply awesome and I thought it would be an easy matter to simply pull them apart and use just the charms. Weeeellll – nuff said. I had to resort to a very strong pair of snippy things I borrowed from my FIL to get these little suckers apart. So I am very impressed – not only are they inexpensive, but they are very well made too. I could see these surviving some serious wear. Not only does Pat have a range of these lovely little Harry Potter charms – but I also scored some Twilight ones that are perfect for the Breathless mini I am still trying to get back to. Anyway – you can check out her awesome stuff here – and score some for yourself.

And so to the tag – not happy with the way it has photographed – the colour match is better than it looks. Sigh.

This week’s technique for the forum features two tags I made to go with the layouts. Obviously I have been suffering a withdrawal from Tim’s 12 tags of Christmas and this is my compensation for not having all the lovely goodies he has. I’ve been playing with my distress inks and doing a little stamping and really wanted to use a recent stamp purchase – the owl scroll – with this range. How I put this tag together is in the forum (or will be shortly) and I promise you that you will have great fun if you want to do something similar for yourself. The Hogwarts title, stars and lightning bolt are rubons from the range – the rest are stamps from my own stash. Just a note on the crushed muslin ribbon – the red-brown one I coloured myself and how I did that (it’s a mix of inks) is also in the forum in the same technique post.

And that’s the first layout. Plenty more where that came from, so come visit over the next week to see what else I came up with. Mary has ordered in some restocks, as the stickers and papers have been selling well – so don’t despair at the current ‘sold out’ signs, there is more on the way.

3 Responses

  1. I absolutely loved this! It helps that I’m a MAJOR Harry Potter fan as well. Loved all the books & all the movies so far…I’ll need to get these papers so I can scrap my love for HP. Fantastic work & use of stickers!

  2. Fantastic layout. Have to get some of those gorgeous little charms for all my Harry fanatics!!!
    Great job with the stickers, too.

  3. Awesome !!

Leave a Reply

