A new Harry Fan – or not – as the case may be?? (Newsletter layout #2)

Well actually it is layout number 3 – but the second one went to a more urgent cause. Being a little distracted with some paid work this last month, I totally forgot about the sketch for December and had to ‘donate’ one of my Harry layouts to it. This left me a little short for subject choice, as ‘3 boys who love Harry = 3 newsletter layouts’ and needing a 4th was a huge issue. Discussing this with the boys, we realised poor Madame had never seen a Harry movie and was thus (in our opinion) denied one of the great joys in life. Remedying this not only gave me subject matter for my next layout – but also brought about one of the funniest ‘Madame quotes’ I’ve heard in a while.

Poor child – usually she gets to watch DVD’s in peace. I think she was a little nonplussed by the anxious teenage (male) audience waiting to see her reaction to the movie. I casually asked her afterwards if she had liked it and was stunned by her negative response. She was not impressed. VERY not impressed. The movie contained bad things. More specifically, Cornish Pixies. And what was the problem with Cornish Pixies I asked. “Cornish Pixies are EVIL” she said (her emphasis) in a tone that brokered no room for disagreement. And why is that I inquired. Because they pulled a boys hair she replied – in a tone that questioned my sanity in not recognising this.

Not understanding the depths of her conviction, I attempted to argue that they were simply naughty rather than full-rated minions of Hell. Nope. Her withering glance back at me at my obvious lack of judgement was accompanied by a very firm “Evil – just Evil” with much shaking of her head. I pity the poor boy who first pulls her ponytail in the playground when she goes back to school next year – heaven help him if he cannot outrun her.

Unlock the Magic attempts to use some of the background patterns in the range. The layout base is a sheet of Hogwarts Crest (reverse) with a piece of the reverse of the Harry Potter Banner over the top of it. This was stitched to the layout base with a contrasting thread. I was so happy with how this looked it was hard to put anything over it and hide the stitching. The ochre and maroon colours in this range are very nice together and a lot of the embellishments have these tones. I finally decided to use a section of the Daily Prophet paper – which is again, one of those papers you really don’t want to cover. Love the title of the main story on it.

Sorry about the poor photos – we are still have overcast days, rain and storms up here in not-so-sunny Queensland. Tis all a bit soggy I am afraid, and musty and mouldy and … even the frogs are over it.

Not so many stickers on this one – but I did try to use some that weren’t on the previous layout. I’ve used pop-dots to give one of the flat sticker banners some dimension -layering really is the way to go to get stickers to work I think. With some of the longer stickers (eg the brooms) layering allows you to use them and yet not take up too much space across the layout.

Loving the cauldron too – though it did cause Madame to further comment that such things (the hat and broomstick included) were the province of witches and not schoolchildren. Such things would not be approved at her school it seems. Sigh – we’re in for trouble with this one when she gets to her teens, I can just see it now. Not sure I can cope with it all, but I assume her brothers will have us well broken in by then.

Sorry – I just HAD to use her quote on the layout. I put the journaling on a tag again, as there was a lot I wanted to say about her first Harry experience. That left my sticker journaling spot a little bare – but her quote filled it in nicely. Lol – love the face on her in the photo too – she is soooo not impressed with the ‘Piskies’. The owl is a sticker – a repetition of a pattern element on one of the papers.

Back to my favourite Scrapware Antique Lowercase (Mary has the uppercase ones on sale at the moment) chipboard alphas for the title. The font fits in so well with the Harry theme don’t you think? The ochre ones are simply inked with a chalk ink, but “magic” was dual inked with Tim Holtz/Ranger Aged Mahogany and Scattered Straw Distress Ink. This was then given a coat of Dimensional Magic to give it that lovely glossy look. You can only see the edge of the tag here – but it is the same inks as the previous tag, just applied differently. Making this tag is also in the forum post. More rubons and some stickers finish this one off – the metal corners are from my own stash. I have to admit that making the tags took way more time than I though they would – but then time always flies when you are having fun I guess.

The front of the tag…

and the reverse…

Now that my unit drafts are in and my Christmas shopping is (almost) finished I can get time to put the rest of the layouts up over the next few days. So we should be all over with Harry by Christmas.

2 Responses

  1. LOL love the look on Madame’s face – says it all !

    Fantastic job & love the LO 🙂

  2. Another fabulous HP layout! I’m so enjoying these pages & I love the story behind this page! So maybe not all of us can be BIG HP fans!? Fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

