Kaisercraft – English Rose

Kaisercraft’s English Rose is a very pretty, old-world range whose lace, flourish and floral patterns just scream shabby-chic. Soft pinks, creams and greens combine with a deep maroon to provide a palette of colours reminiscent of an English country garden – the obvious connection to make – given the most common pattern motif is the rose.

I must confess that whilst checking out the papers and embellishments my first thought at seeing them was of my Nan, but knowing she would thump me for thinking of her as sweet? and flowery (and of course old), I resisted the “Nana” layout temptation and decided to do a few for the littlest rose lover in my family. I actually had a layout in mind when I got the range in – a title too – which for me is odd, since I often leave things like titles and photos until after I see a range in real life.

Like a number of other scrappers I used a series of lace patterned punches with the papers, together with layering, distressing and inking. The ‘Shabby Chic’ approach is really suited to this range – so prepare to get down and messy and have some fun.

With Through Rose Coloured Glasses, I used the maroon side of Frieda together with a Martha Stewart punch to produce a delicately edged lace frame for the page. A trimmed down centre of Thelma (cream reverse side) provided the contrasting layout base. My Heidi Swapp Edge Distresser and a piece of Estelle gave me a lovely soft and shabby photo matt. The last patterned paper – Lillian (both sides) – I put through a couple of my Martha Stewart Deep-edge punches and used as decorative pieces.

I am rather partial to a nice chipboard frame – so it was interesting to see how the new Kaiser wooden ones compare. The design itself is very pretty and overall I must say they aren’t too bad, though I still prefer my chipboard ones – this one was painted (Kaiser Olive) and then given a coat of Tim Holtz Rock Candy Crackle Paint. Inside it I popped an old Webster’s Pages Cameo (my stash) and underneath it went a couple of the chipboard pieces from the English Rose range. The 3-D rose was white – a quick spray of Cherry Blossom Glimmermist gave me a perfect match for the papers and with the exception of the maroon rose, this is what was done for all the 3-D roses. One of the rubon phrases provides the finishing touch.

I had a bit of a play with the title. I’m not much one for mixed alphas – though I do admire those who can use them well – so a mixed set of words is the best I am brave enough to try. The leaf rubons are part of the English Rose range, though sadly you needed to be quick to get these.

Talk about scrapping through the ages with the alphas – the rubons at the top are some very old Making Memories rubon alphas which were an absolute must have when I first saw them. I think I have them in pink, white, black and lilac. Lol – when I think of the scraping and saving that went into getting them – and the hunting on ebay for the best price. They were all the rage at the time – hardly see them used now, which is a shame. Luckily for me they were mostly ok to use still – I know rubons have a shelf life so I was pretty happy these still worked. The chipboard alphas are a perennial favourite of mine – She by Heidi Swapp. I don’t want to think how many sets of these I have worked my way through. Lol. These were painted with pink paint and then given a heavy coating of Kindyglitz. Madame loves them – I think they were her favourite part of this layout.

I have to admit – the one part of this layout I dislike is the olive glaze pen – coloured – I just could not manage to get the pen to leave a consistent line. It irritated me to the point that I seriously thought about re-doing the base part of the layout. And after all my careful plotting to get the perfect letters too – I applied the rubons first and then used the glaze pen over the top. Sigh – best laid plans and all that… Ah well, will have to suck it up – it’s done now and can stay like that. The final word uses my favourite chipboard alphas at the moment – the Scrapware Lowercase Antique ones. They’ve just been inked with a maroon chalk ink – the rest of it all was so fussy that it was nice to have something plain and easy.

I must say that the chipboard for this range is very nice – I have just the one piece left of mine (strangely – it’s the gorgeous flourish, which although I tried to include it on every layout, sadly eluded me). I found that mixing the chipboard pieces with the 3-D roses and the patterned paper roses (Florence) looked very effective. Here I have used it as the centre piece over a folded, green fabric ribbon strip and a punched paper ribbon strip (Lillian). The Kaiser rhinestones are the appropriately named Antique Rose.

To add interest and dimension to the layout I popped the photo up on Mounting Tape. This served two purposes – it let me put a journaling tag under the photo (as the journaling is quite personal and I wanted it hidden away) and it helped draw attention to the photo itself. Although I do try to make my photos the focus of my layouts, it was especially important to me this time, for this photo (and yes – this is the layout I wanted English Rose for).

This layout really brings home to me why I scrap – it’s personal; it’s a way of recording our feelings and thoughts at different times in our life; it’s a way of leaving them to our children to see later; to help them understand who we are. Despite us already having a child with glasses and knowing what to look for, it was very distressing to find out recently that our baby girl had managed to get to 5 and a half before it was realised that she needed them. Needed them seriously – we are still waiting to see if she has lost some or all of her 3D vision. A tonne of guilt went into this layout along with all the pretty papers and embellishments. It’s still one I have trouble looking at without cringing – but it was something I had to record.

She is now the proud owner of a pair of metallic ‘rose’ coloured glasses (and a metallic rainbow pair for home – lol) and this layout records the adjustment she has had to make as well as my thoughts on the whole process. For those interested in the photo – I’ve used the ‘close-up’ setting on my camera and then further softened parts of the photo with an editing program. Part of what I wanted to represent with the photo was my own interpretation of getting the glasses. She is a 5+ – which means close up stuff is blurred to her – something the glasses should correct. So I tried to make the photo look like the only part that was clear and vibrant were the glasses and her eyes behind them. Hopefully what she sees is now as clear as this. Yeah I know it is kind of arty and odd – but I wanted to use the photo as part of the layout theme – not sure if it in anyway represents what she sees or even if it achieves what I hoped to achieve – but it does look nice. Her baby blues really stand out – something that they don’t seem to do in real life behind those coke bottle lenses.

One thing to remember with popping up photos like this is that you still need to link it to the lower sections of the layout. To this end I have ‘layered down’ some embellishments along the top edge of the photo and tucked it under the ribbon along the bottom edge. Along the top I used a combination of chipboard and patterned paper roses, one of the new Kaiser Pearl Flourishes (Latte) and the tag. Loving these flourishes – the colours are just lovely.

The tag has been background inked with pink and green chalk inks and then stamped with a maroon ink. I used the larger of the two flourishes in the English Rose Stamps pack. Over the flourish pattern I applied some Crystalina Kindyglitz . A few cut out pink roses from the Florence paper finish the tag face. To the top of the tag I added (from my stash) some silk ribbons, another rose, a pearl stick pin and some gold charms (a key and butterfly). I typed out the journalling onto some transparency and glued it to the back of the tag. Loving tags for this sort of thing – you can fit a lot of words onto one when you type/print them like this.

So if shabby chic is your style, or you simply love roses – English Rose is for you. Check out the store for your chance to grab some today – all the papers are still available, though the chipboard and colour rubons have sold out. Mary has also just gotten in the new fairy range by Kaiser Magic Happens – which I can’t wait to get my hands on.

2 Responses

  1. Gorgeous Layout …. the colours are perfect and loving the reason why you chose Madame.

    Mmm.. I can’t wait to use my stamp & liked how you used the flourish on the tag (also the colour).

    A beautiful rose in rose coloured glasses 🙂

  2. This is a beautiful page! I really liked how you embellished the title. Lovely work!

Leave a Reply

