Kaiser English Rose – layout 2

For Angel, I badly wanted to use the stunning flocked paper in the range (Vera), but couldn’t, since I wanted to dress up the pattern a little with some Crystalina Kindyglitz. Luckily – the gorgeous pattern on this paper is also the reverse side of one of the normal papers (Pearl) – so this is what I used instead.

After trimming it down a little I inked the edges and stitched it to a background frame of Frieda. I really like the ‘stitched frame’ look – just wish I had more time and patience for them. At least I get to look at some of my tv series DVD’s when I do the stitching – two birds with one stone as they say. When using one paper as a ‘frame’ for the layout it helps to cut this out and save the centre bit for use elsewhere – which is what I did. Too much Scottish blood in me I guess.

The title uses some chipboard wings I have had in my stash forever. It’s nice to finally get to use them. I have waaay more chippy than I will ever need – along with rubons and flowers and… well you get the picture. No idea what I was saving them for but they were perfect for the photo.

I painted them off-white and then rubbed off most of the paint with a baby wipe. This allows the grooves in the chipboard to show though the paint still. Over this went a thick layer of Tim Holtz Rock Candy Distress Stickles. I had thought about using Crystalina Kindyglitz, but this is a more refined sparkle and just as nice – gives it a textured look too.

The title itself is also an old ScrapFX chipboard one I have had in my stash for a long time – it was actually plural, but I trimmed the “s” off. It was inked pink – though this is a little hard to see in the photo – and then coated with Crystalina Kindyglitz.

Oh I love this chipboard flourish. I have to dig through my rubbish bin now to find the packet it came from, so I can get some more (sigh). It’s from a new chippy company up in NT – you can get it (along with a lot of other nice stuff) from a place called Scrap Matrix. They have a lovely collection of chippy – just wait until you see the fairy ones they have that are just perfect for using with the G45 fairy papers.

One of the Kaiser Pink Ice Pearl Brads holds it to the layout. The patterned papers you can see there include a section from the reverse side of Charlotte (which contains blocks of different patterns) and the pink roses side of Estelle.

More cut-out roses – big pink ones this time. When cutting out shapes like this from patterned paper it helps to define them if you ink around their edges with a slightly darker but matching ink. The chipboard flourish (from the same place as the other flourish I think) was given the same treatment as the title. The paper you can see under it is a section of Lillian.

I’ve used another of the wooden frames to make a feature of the Die Cut Element quote. To make it fit the sizing I needed I cut one end off and then arranged the chipboard and cut-out roses over it to hide that it was cut down. The green punched strips you can see here and elsewhere on the layout are from the reverse side of Lillian.

Although I haven’t included a close-up of it – the roses and flourish corner on the photo is actually what I consider to be the best piece from the rubon pack. I wish they had included more – it is a really beautiful piece and I could have used it in a number of places.

I have to confess that I am not so happy with the final look of this layout. The photo is one I have wanted to scrap for a while now and I think I let that impact on me more than I should have. It needs a less pretty, feminine approach and more girly grunge I think – though I would keep the title and wings with it. And I don’t think I do the ‘layered edge punch papers’ approach as well as some of the scrappers whose work I have admired with this look. Back to the drawing board I guess. Lucky for me there are still plenty of photos from that little session in the backyard – so I still have something to play with and go grungy. Lol – the tank is someone’s favourite summer shirt – since she “looks like an angel” in it. Shame she doesn’t behave like one. 🙂

One Response

  1. This is just gorgeous & love every detail – especially the bottom chippie with the pearl accent !

    I say this is my fav…

Leave a Reply

