English Rose card and Kaiser Blooms

Yeah I know – it’s a little late. Had to grab the card back to take the photos. MIL wasn’t keen on that.

February was my MIL’s birthday month – and English Rose was just perfect for a card for her. Unfortunately her birthday and Valentine’s Day are a little too close for comfort for flowers to feature highly in the gift-giving – but this year I thought I would have a play with the newly released Kaiser Paper Blooms when making a card for her. Using 6 from the white pack and 2 from the red pack and an assortment of pink Glimmermist (Snow Angel, Cherry Blossom and Viva Pink) I quickly made up an assorted bouquet. How to make those cute ones with the pearl centre is the tip for the week for February. Check out the forum to see how to make them yourself.

I have to admit that I am not that impressed with them in terms of being able to alter them – unlike the Prima‘s they do not hold their shape well when misted/sprayed – hence my little foray into flower altering. They tend to lose their tightness and the petals fall open – which I why I put the pearl into them. I must admit the colours are nice and match the ranges well – but still – there are better quality for the same or cheaper price out there.

Remember those decorative page borders I mentioned earlier in the first layouts? That’s what I used for the strip along the top of the card. This one comes from the Estelle paper. A left-over strip of Frieda forms the majority of the card face – though the card itself is actually made from a section of Bazzill (White) cardstock. At the join between the two I used some leftover pink pearl strips.

I’ve placed the flowers over a Kaiser White Flower Doily. The leaves aren’t actually from the roses pattern side of Florence. Rather than waste them, I used the other side (the pale green one) by tracing out some leaf shapes onto sections where the roses were not worth cutting out and the inking them a darker green. This explains why you can’t see any of the white handwriting on them.

To finish off the card I used one of the Die Cut shapes as a base for the card sentiment, which I simply printed on using my computer (since most of my stamps were too large for it).

One Response

  1. Gorgeous card – looks like you have given someone a bunch of roses that will stay always fresh…… love the colour combination 🙂

Leave a Reply

