Summer Shorts (more English Rose)

As part of the photo challenge we have been doing in the forum, one of the photo challenges was for ‘summer clothes’. The photo I took was of Madame’s favourite summer shorts for this summer. She loves her ‘short shorts” and this year she finally grew to the point where her old beloved ones are finally TOO short and I bought her some pretty new floral ones. Yummy shabby pink roses on faded denim – a perfect match for using the Kaiser English Rose.

I had a ball working with the title alphas. I found the perfect chalk ink to match the denim colour of her shorts and applied this to those yummy Scrapware alphas that I just can’t get enough of. Then I used up the last of the rose rubons to make my title look just like the pattern on her shorts. Just love it when something comes together perfectly like that.

I love this paper – Lillian – it’s one of the prettiest in the range and it was hard not to use it on all the layouts. I’ve tried to use it without hiding all the lovely design details on it – so hopefully that is something you notice when you look at the layout. The little flower cluster here is supposed to tie in with the pattern underneath – it works for me so hopefully it works for you too. 🙂

Loving Kaiser’s new pearl flourishes – particularly this Latte colour. It’s nice to get more simple flourishes for when you want them and obviously they are cheaper to get than the more complex ones (like those from Prima). Breaking them into pieces like I have done here makes them go even further. The chipboard piece is from a new company – Out There Chippy – and they have some very yummy pieces (wait until you see the fairies they do). For this double piece I inked the top bit with a light pink chalk ink and then a layer of Crystalina Kindyglitz over a bottom piece that is more a shabby maroon colour. It’s not a perfect match to the maroon paper, but it’s close.

The cut out roses come from both the pattern on the Lillian paper and some spare ones from the Florence paper. It didn’t suit me to have the roses where they were on the Lillian paper – cutting them out and reassembling them as more 3D versions makes the layout much more interesting.

The tag is a leftover that I cut off one I used on a previous layout. I find that cutting off the bits that you normally hide allows you to make the most of them – this way I got 2 tags for the price of one. Again the leaves are templates cut from the green reverse side of Lillian as I have pretty much run out of leaves from the Florence paper.

The die cut comes from the 6 x 6 paper pad – all I did was trim the outside edge to give the die cut edge. Again I have trimmed off the bit that would normally hide under the photo and I will use that on some other layout or on a card. I’ve gotten to the point now that I always buy the paper pads from the Kaiser ranges as they have a wider range of patterns in there and sometimes there are patterns that are nicer than the ones they use on the 12 x 12 papers. I’ve layered the pink rose to make it more interesting and used the chipboard leaves (beacuse they were the only ones I had that were big enough to suit the rose size).

All in all I am pretty happy with the way it turned out. Very shabby chic indeed. I don’t have much left of this range (other than the paper pad) so I can see some cards being made from leftovers.

Anyway – that was my cc layout for this month. The challenge winners are all posted up in the forum – along with the games winners. It was nice to see some of the summer photo challenges being used for the cc. The next cc will be towards the end of next month.

2 Responses

  1. Another gorgeous English rose Layout & so envious of Madame’s rose shorts lol… love the colour of the title “summer” looks effective with the rub on’s too !

  2. LOVE the idea of the rub ons on the scrapware chipboard letters … so they are the shorts you were talking about!

Leave a Reply

