April Sketch (Kaiser – Magic Happens)

Ok – have been busy scrapping, but with things I can’t show yet. I’ve also had Madame home sick for a few days with a temperature and coughing. Not quite something full blown yet, but getting there.

I can share this layout now though – as I scored the sketch for this April. My layout uses the Kaiser Magic Happens range that Monica showed off so well in the last newsletter. I’m excited to have Mon join me on the team at Ideal Papercraft. We used to work together at another store and her style complements mine well – she loves white space and I hate it. Lol – a scrapping partnership made in heaven there. Her layouts are stunning – so check them out in the gallery.

I have to admit I got this range because I knew Madame would love it – but secretly I think that the first fairy range Kaiser had was better. Not into the fairy herself in this one – though I do like the castle and the unicorn (and I have something planned for both of those later). It is pretty – just been there done that Kaiser – come up with something new.

That said I am pretty happy with the way this layout turned out.

The base for the layout is the reverse side of Potion. The colours – purples and blues – are very pretty and surprisingly, look very nice with the pinky-purples of the Pixie paper. Not a colour combination I would have immediately thought of, but there you go – they work. I used my die cut sheet from the English Rose range as a template to create the upper sheet. Cutting it out like this lost a fair bit of the purple – so I smudged the purple ink edge I gave it to lessen the ‘pinkness’ of the page a bit.

I’ve used one of my Crafters Workshop templates to draw in the stitching line (isn’t that iridescent thread lovely?) and the line which I later stuck the pearl strip to. That gave me the basis of my layout. Fairly simple this time, but I don’t like to make my sketches too complex.

I’m rather fond of those pearl strips that Kaiser have – wish they did more colours and that Mary still had them in stock. The border on this page took up ¾ of the White packet – my last – so I will have to hunt out some more.

The tag is one of those from the Mini Journaling Tags booklet. Too cute!! I must admit that when they get these tags right they are so easy to use – but sometimes the designs are ‘less’ than useful (well – at least they are to me). These are lovely though – so all good. The fairy was cut out from the Fairy Dust paper and I rather like her better than the chippy version.

The alphas are the Scrapware Lowercase Mini Antique ones I am so fond of. Some purple ink (several different shades) and then a layer of heat treated Kindyglitz. Love that finish for chippy – all the glimmer and glitz. The rhinestones flourishes are some of the new ones from Kaiser Lagoon is the colour. The little fairy and the word strip are part of the Colour Rubons from the range.

The flowers are a mix of some Prima roses from 2010 and a stunning handmade set I got from Kay’s wonderful Etsy store. It was a corner piece, but I was my usual naughty self and pulled it apart to make 2 sections. The Prima rose was only added in to cover the broken end. I popped the lovely silver fairy charm onto an old jewelled pin from my stash and stuck it into the flower cluster as well. Always room for a bit more bling I say.

I think this is a Dusty Attic chippy – not sure though since I usually remove the packaging to save space when storing my chippy. I’ve given it the same type of finish as the title – just used different coloured inks.

On the other side of the photo I’ve used another of the journalling tags from the collection, together with a larger flower cluster. There’s a pretty silver key charm and a teeny-weeny glass bottle that is (supposedly) full of fairy dust (at least it is according to one small believer-in-fairies).

The chipboard butterfly at the top is one of the new Kaiser Magical Butterflies set of 3 – very pretty. I love the varied and gorgeous patterns you get with using the heat gun on ink and Kindyglitz – just look at the variety in this close-up.

The photo is one of the March photo challenges – taking a photo at night without a flash. Madame is not big on sleeping without a light. In fact, she wakes up whenever you do turn it out – no matter how late it is or how long she has been sleeping – most annoying. We’ve had to sleep with the hall light on ever since she was born. I’ve almost forgotten how to sleep in the dark now.

Last Christmas I found this darling little fairy nightlight and popped it into her Xmas stocking. She was thrilled with it and it comes to bed with her every night. Now our nights are filled with rotating fairy colours, as it cycles through the options. A bit like living in a disco without the noise (unless you count her snoring). She adores it though and swears that it brings her magical fairy dreams.

Check out the forum for the usual rules for our Sketch Competition – basically you have a month to upload your layout to the gallery to be in the running for a prize. We’d love to see you join in.

3 Responses

  1. Absolutely beautiful! The design–how you clustered the vine & the flowers & that lovely shade of purple…it all came together perfectly!! Fantatic work!

  2. Beautiful !! – had a laugh at the “wakes up when you turn the light off ” had the same with D2 if I turned her radio off LOL.. love all the bits’n’bobs 🙂

  3. totally agree with regarding Kaiser … been there done that .. love the way you have framed it with the pearls and gorgeous thread … draws to your to the photo first which of course if the important focus then drawing your eyes around the layout to see all the pretty flowers and embellishments INCLUDING my cute charms LOL sorry couldn’t resist! Thanks for the mention 🙂

Leave a Reply

