MSR – Challenge 1

Whoo hooo – loving it all so far. The challenge 1 criteria were right up my alley. Chop up your chippy; fussy cut your papers; distressing; use OS chippy and make 3 flowers.

Jules used the wonderful Graphic 45 Once Upon a Springtime papers that have been sitting in my stash for a looooooooong time whilst I sorted out a mini album and found the time to do it (and obviously haven’t yet). It didn’t take long to work out what I wanted – but it did take a long time to put together. Mostly because I stuffed up my title and had to do some last minute repairs, then changed my mind on my base papers and had to add another layer on piece by piece around the edges and of course decided that a second row of stitching was a good idea. Still – I like it better now than the original version.

Here it is as it was submitted. Apologies – it is blurry – it has been raining here for the last 2 days and I had to take the photos inside without the flash.

For those of you who have seen the photo before – yep – I have pulled out the old fairy photos again. This time I altered the dress colour from lilac to pink to better suit the paper colours. I did try to get a deeper, more rose coloured pink – but Photoshop did not want to play nice – so sugar pink is what you get.

Love fussy cutting and all those gorgeous fairies – where do you start? In this close-up you can see the distressing of the background paper and cardstock. I also distress inked the scalloped section. The stitching was a pain – but several episodes of “Big Bang Theory” made the time fly. There are at least two layers to most of the flowers – some of the top ones are up on pop-dots.

My favourite fairy – isn’t she a stunner? The chippy just above her is half a piece of Scrap FX flourish (challenge criteria) which I inked and then gave a clear coat of crackle paint. When that was dry I added a darker green (Forest Moss) Distress Ink and some Kindyglitz and gave it a short burst with the heat gun. Love the way it turned out.

My poor title chippy. It is half a title, that I cut to keep only the second word (challenge criteria) and it was originally painted cream, given a crackle paint coating and then another coat of green ink. I was hoping for something similar to the chippy in that Websters layout I did at the beginning of the year – but it turned out yuck. I had to add more ink – lots more – and then some Kindyglitz and my heat gun. I am very happy with how it finally turned out – it looks very distressed (lol – challenge criteria) though I think I was more distressed than it was. I had the layout all planned by then and it was the ONLY copy of that chippy title I had and SO were sold out of it. Arrrggghhhhh!! Very relieved it turned out ok. A happy accident really – since I LOVE the crackle look underneath it all. Can think of a few other upcoming layouts I might try this on.

The shaped green paper comes curtesy of an old Pink Paislee chipboard shape that I got in a pack of similar shapes and strips. I use them as templates – the original patterns on them being a little hideous. This one works particularly well on circle layouts – though I had to modify it a little from the original (it stuck out too far) by cutting a scallop out of each side. I have another layout where I have used this and I have to confess to being very partial to this design.

Here is the rest of the chopped up Scrap FX chippy and another of those lovely fairies. This one is Madame’s favourite – she is pink (what else?). Love the little title banner – cut that out of one of the papers and bent it so it looks like a real banner. Must remember that for the mini album when I finally get there.

I ADORE that little pink and white flower. It’s by Ada flowers and is a Megan flower. The very clever Rach at OS got them from New Zealand. Must have more. Neeeeeed more. They are perfect for this paper range. So if anyone knows where I can get my hands on more of these little lovelies – preferably in a large pack and not per flower – I will worship the ground you walk on (at least until my next ‘must have’). I did find that they come in many colours – thinking that might be a handy thing too. 😉

Sigh – I have to mention the monstrosity that is my hand-made flower (another challenge criteria). Not happy with it. I made three versions of my flower before settling for that one – simply because I had run out of time and patience. Yeah ok – so they are not that detestable – the flat out truth – it’s me. With a paper like this – where there are perfectly wonderful patterned flowers to cut out – AND where there is a perfectly matching pre-made flower – I just don’t see the need to MAKE one. But is it a challenge criteria and so I had to. I do confess (just don’t tell Jules and the other girls at SO) that I am going to take them off and finish the layout the way I would do it without challenge criteria. I may save the flowers for the mini album – I may not. They are easy enough to make – Retro flower punch (Med and Large) and some muslin dyed with Victorian Velvet Distress Ink and a Kaiser pearl brad for a centre.

So that’s the first challenge done and dusted. Everyone in the competition has to rate everyone else out of 10 (according to the criteria) and send in their ratings. The SO girls will also give a rating. This is then added to other ‘points’ earned from other things – and this total provides them with the rankings – no weekly scores will be given out, just the rankings.

Hopefully this has kick-started my very moribund mojo into first gear and I will be able to finish off the pile of layouts sitting on my desk.

Keeping my fingers crossed.

2 Responses

  1. DROP DEAD STUNNING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Ooooooh this looks fantastic & sooooo stunning !
    LOVE IT….

Leave a Reply

