MSR – Challenge 2

(Ok – I obviously need to go practice taking photos of my layouts or find a better spot to take them in or check my camera. My apologies for the shocking quality of the photos. Not sure what is going on. Will take another lot shortly and see if I can do better this time.)

So the challenges have gone from great to wonderful. πŸ™‚ After last week’s (which I adored) from Jules, we now have an absolute beauty from Trudi. Use a die cut; make your own spiral flower; add some blooms (at least 3); layering (fussy cut bits and papers – at least 3 and some cardstock) and use a wet medium somewhere as well as on your chipboard title.

Yessssss – knew just which papers I wanted to use and the photo to go with them. They had been sitting on my desk for the last few weeks whilst I struggled with my Timepiece layouts.

I didn’t have the kit that Trudi used – but I did use another range by Kaiser, the recently released Chapter One – which is sooo striking with its black, white, teal and green. I started the layout by making my own die cut. Yeah – couldn’t use the one they already had – had to make my own. I used the die cut from the range as my template and then also cut out a matching black cardstock. These I overlaid onto one another, offsetting the cardstock slightly so that only bits of it showed around the edges of the patterned paper. I really like the way that came out – it makes the paper pop.

I love the chippy title to this. I actually changed the photo (from another in the same shoot) to match this title. It’s a new one from Dusty Attic and you can get it from Scrapping Outback here. To get the look you see on the chippy I first gave it a coat of Key Lime Glimmermist and then whilst that was wet added a layer of Crystalina Kindyglitz, splashed a bit more Glimmermist on it and then dried it with my heat gun. You get this mottled effect where there is lots of glimmer in some spots and only some glimmer in others. Way cool – just love it.

Behind the title are a heap of rubons from the Chapter One range and a splash of Turqoise Blue Glimmermist. I’ve used 2 packs of the rubons – I only had them because it seems Kaiser need a little quality control with their newer rubons. The first lot I used ruined the layout as it was by not rubbing on properly (not this bit – though it was touchy as well – the words down at the bottom). They are not lifting off the backing paper properly. I had to get another set of rubons AND another piece of my base patterned paper and start again. Still, I can’t complain too much as it allowed me to use the second set of rubons up the top – where I had not worked out what I was going to do.

This close-up shows you some more rubbons, some of the cut out elements, and the end of the layered paper strip. The Turqoise Blue Glimmermist was the perfect background foil for the rubons. They really stand out well against the colour. I’ve not been a big one for using Glimmermist like this but I could see me becoming a very big fan.

This close-up shows you the other bit of chippy (also Dusty Attic) which I simply inked a plain black and all the paper layering. I overlaid strips of different patterned papers and punched the bottom one with an EK Success punch whose pattern I felt matched in with the papers. You can also see the pesky line of rubon words that caused me all the trouble half-way through making the layout.

I kept to smaller blooms for this layout – the colours are very striking and the pattern is crisp and bold – so I didn’t want too many or too big flowers on the page. I used some of the stunning little resin ones that Mary and Tracy sell in their stores. The turquoise one is one of the Kaiser Lagoon roses from their Blooms pack, whilst the smaller roses you can see about the place are ones from my stash that have been coloured with the two Glimmermists I used on this layout.

When I cut the paper into the die cut shape I was careful to make sure that the best parts of the pattern were kept; like the butterfly here, the flower towards the top; the fronds on the left and just a touch of the black leaves on the top right. This really is a stunning paper – probably the best one in this range I think.

This section shows more of the fussy cut pieces – which are also layered. Since I had the spare base paper, I simply cut out the fronds and black leaf and mounted them on pop dots to add some depth to the layout. I needed it to balance the height of the spiral flower. I don’t normally do spiral flowers, because they are rather high – and my layouts are bulky enough as is – but I did really like how this one came out and can see me doing them again. The other flowers and the pop dotted fronds helped to anchor my spiral flower really well.

The fussy cut flowers are from a sheet of patterned paper in the 6.5 x 6.5 paper pad from the Chapter One range. There are some stunning papers in this pad and it is well worth getting if you like the 12 x 12 papers. I added a few black Kaiser pearls to the top one for some interest.

Here is my spiral baby. I kept it pretty tightly wound and added a coat of Kindyglitz to the top edges. The black flower stamens were the perfect final touch. Love it.

The final touch was this gorgeous G2 glass butterfly from Kay’s Etsy Store. It was one of the first I ever bought from her and has been patiently waiting a home for a number of months now. I think I finally found the perfect place for it. I’ve positioned it so that it is squarely on the blob of Glimmermist spray and that really makes it pop out. A Kaiser Lagoon Rhinestone Flourish and it’s all done.

I adore this layout. I would not have done it this way had it not been for the MSR comp – so I am thrilled to have 2 for 2 fabulous layouts that I love – with 4 more weeks of the competition to go.

Scoring the first week was a huge task – so many layouts and it was so hard to assign scores for the 3 categories. It took me ages to get it done – and then I got Hubby to give a second opinion. So I was stunned and humbled to see that I had won the first week with my The Fairies Garden layout. Thanks so much to everyone who ranked me up there. I have my fingers crossed for this week – but will have to wait impatiently for Thursday to find out.

It was Madame’s birthday on the weekend and after our (new this year) traditional birthday brunch, I managed to con her eldest brother into a photoshoot. Well – he agreed to remain in one spot long enough for me to snap off some shots. Casual shots suit teens better anyway (my story and I am sticking to it) and I am absolutely stoked at the few I have been working on in Photoshop. I wanted something moody and teen-angst-y – and these are just perfect. Since I have not been able to get the photos I wanted for my nearly-done-but-lacking-photos Timepiece layouts – they are just the thing for completing them. I need to alter a few bits here and there to reflect the new photos – but whooo haaaaa – I can smell completion just around the corner.

4 Responses

  1. I am so loving this page! The combination of colors plus all your attention to detail is fabulous! This is definitely one I’m adding to my list of inspirational pages! Fantastic work!

  2. Is AWESOME Ngaire……great photo, gorgeous detail, beautiful colour combo πŸ™‚

  3. LOVE the effect of the glimmer mist and those rub ons …. wow I thought that was part of the pp – clever chook! but then I wouldn’t expect anything less from you:)

  4. I love this layout with the gorgeous colours & all your details… beautifully done ! love the chippy quote πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

