July Sketch

Where has the year gone? It seems to be flying past way more quickly than I would like.  Sigh – never enough time for all that has to be done.

Anyway – here is the sketch for July for Ideal Papercraft. Apologies it is a little rough around the edges – DS2 did the graphics for me (thank you grouchy bear – I wuvs you too) as I was busy with some sudden surprises (just like life to get in the way of scrapping).

And here is my example layout – using the gob-smackingly gorgeous Gabrielle range from Bo Bunny. Just love that colour combination.


(I will get a better photo up tomorrow – it was late afternoon by the time I got home to take the photo and it is not the best).

As usual – most of the Sketch is pretty flexible and open to interpretation. I’ve only included the ‘frame’ aspects of the design into the Sketch – feel free to add in whatever small details you wish.

Although I didn’t specify a space for journalling on the Sketch – the open space to the right of the photo would be ideal for some strip-style journalling.

Upload your sketch by 31st July 2011 into the appropriate gallery to be in the running for a prize from the prize cupboard.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

I’ve been hanging out to get my hands on this range. I adore the Time Piece one that was released at the same time and that has kept me too busy to play with this one (I’ll be putting those layouts up shortly too). Well that and the competition – which has finally finished. I missed the last week (week 6) for various reasons and the mini from Week 4 is still under wraps for Tracy – but I will be putting up the week 5 layout on the weekend.  It has been a great comp and I have had a wonderful time doing all the challenges.

But back to this layout – Gabrielle is more a layering range than a cutting one  – though you can do a little of that too if you want to. I liked the contrasting look of the creamy Fairest over the chocolate reverse of Romance, so I made them the basis of the layout. I then used strips of the Stripe paper (both front and reverse) to add in some of the soft peaches and aquamarines here and there. The chocolate design down the right side of the photo has been cut out from the Unwritten paper.

Everything has been inked with Jumbo Java and most of the page edges have been lightly distressed.

You can see from this image how well all those colours work together and how layering brings them out so well.


Love this ‘treasure’ sticker tag – so sweet. The butterfly charm is a Trinket and is just pefect for popping here and there to ‘pretty’ things up. It looks like it is meant to be held in place by ribbons – but I put some rhinestones over the tab holes as I didn’t have any ribbons that would work with that. Mine all tend to be a bit thicker. Love their Brads and the little teal one you see is just one example of the yummy selection they have for this range.

I’ve had these wings in my stash for a number of years now – bought them from the now-defunct Addicted to Scrap – which used to be my main store once upon a time when I was just starting life as a scrapper. They come in several sizes – and yes – sadly I have all 3 sizes – and I HAD to use one of them with this photo of Madame. I’ve mixed up this cluster with some Chipboard pieces from the Gabrielle range; some Prima roses from a few CHA’s back; a Kaiser Rhinestone Flourish; a Maya Road teal rose ribbon and one of the Gabrielle buttons.  

I actually prefer this photo with the softer look to it – but for those of you who need to see a sharper view of the bits and pieces – here it is.

I formed the other embellishment cluster around a sticker tag from the 12 x 12 Sticker Sheet. It’s also standing in as my title. More Prima flowers; a Resin flower from Ideal Papercraft and one from Making Memories; another Kaiser rhinestone flourish; a brass key and lock charm from Ideal Papercraft; and a bit of Turquoise crumpled ribbon from my stash. The butterfly you can see is a Gabrielle Button and I embellished it with some of the rhinestones from the flourish that would have been hidden under the flowers and thus wasted.

Again – a sharper close-up (using the flash) for detail.

I have to work on a few other things over the coming week – but I can’t wait to get another chance to play with Gabrielle.

Don’t forget to have a go at the Sketch this month – we’d love to see your layout in the Gallery.

One Response

  1. Beautiful LO & love all the touches 🙂

Leave a Reply

