Bo Bunny TimePiece Newsletter Layout 1

Where do you start in describing the gorgeous Timepiece range from Bo Bunny? Is it with the stunning collection of colours: black, dark brown, coffee and almond, deep red and white? Or is it with those pocket watches in all sizes, the cogs and the odd, but strangely attractive window/door/bricks bits?  Personally, for me – the paper patterns and strong contrasting colours are the main attraction; it’s hard to go wrong with a layout when the basics are so strong and solid.

 The collection has been sitting on my desk waiting to be scrapped for some time now. I’ve been very (im)patiently awaiting the arrival in store of the embellishments. It came to me though, that this is very much a range where you don’t need the embellishments to create your page – the patterns in the papers are both able to be fussy cut (using the watch faces), or layered to show off the intricate designs. So I’ve actually focussed on the papers themselves for the first two of my layouts and only really lashed out with the embellishments on the third.

In terms of stand out papers in the range – Moments (along with one other) would have to be it. The red is striking – it leaps out at you and the pattern is layered and complex. The majority of the pattern is to be found around the edges of the paper and this leaves you plenty of room to put things in the middle, yet still keep this wonderful design showing. The colour also works well with all of the other colours in the range. It contrasts well with the darker browns and the lighter almond/coffee and white papers and is the ‘reach for’ paper when putting a layout together.

Moments was then, the obvious choice for the base paper for my first layout – Moment in Time. Other than inking the edge to keep the sharpness of the page, I’ve left this paper alone. Letting the pattern on the paper determine the layout design, I’ve very carefully filled in the gaps in the pattern with other papers, my photo and embellishments.

 I’ve used a block of the Timepiece paper – the reverse side – to fill in vertical gaps in the design at the top and bottom of the page. Over this went a horizontal block of the Numbers paper. I chose this paper more for the colours it added to the layout, than the pattern itself – which is why a lot of this block has other things over it – like the photo, the cut out watch and the title. I also matted the photo with the reverse of Unlocked, which is a nice chocolate brown. In hindsight I should have checked my papers a little more closely – there is a dark-brown, almost black version of this design on the reverse of the Villa paper and this would have been a better choice.

 I do need to make the comment here that like it or hate it – Bo Bunny have repeated the same design on 3 of the reverse sides. It gives you less in terms of range of design, but it does give you a choice in contrasting colour for that one design.

 The cut out watch faces are from the Tick Tock paper. The watches come in 2 designs – one in brown/beige and the other in red/black and 2 different sizes. They are a breeze to cut out and make for instant embellishments for your layouts. You can use them singly – as shown here – or layered together in a group. Either is very effective. To finish it off I popped one of the pretty rhinestones from the Jewels pack into the centre of the watch hands.

 The title is an old – but very appropriate for this range – Scrap FX title I have had in my stash for years. With all the other elements in the paper designs, I’ve kept the embellishment of the chipboard to simple black ink, which allows it to contrast nicely against the patterned papers.

 

 I put the journalling on the back of a hidden tag, which I have inked with several Distress inks and then stamped with some of the clear stamps from the Timepiece range (the clock and lock stamp but not the Paris Postmark one). It’s simple, because it really needs to be flat to slip easily under the photo.

 

I love the dimensional stickers in the Bo Bunny ranges – though I am a little taken aback with this one. I have no idea what the whole door/window shutters thing is for – but it does look nice on the page. I’ve used it as a pretend book, and added a few words on it using the lettering from one of the sticker sheets. Just above it you can see another of the fussy cut watch faces and to add some interest to the patterned paper edge I laced some twine along the edge and tied on some brass lock and key charms.Mary has a lovely range of charms in stock now and it is well worth the browse through to see what pretties she currently has in stock (I know that the lock/key comes in both a gold and silver version too).

Leave a Reply

