Bo Bunny TimePiece Newsletter Layout 3

For the last Timepiece layout – Facing the Future – I used my other ‘must have’ paper from the range. Dot has a huge amount of spare space on it begging to be filled in with something else. The neutral beige colour also provides the perfect contrast for the vibrant red and rich chocolate brown of some of the other papers.

I used a large piece of the yummy Stripe paper to fill in most of the design gap. Using a very dark brown thread, I stitched a border to help ‘frame in’ the rest of the layout. Then, using a Crafters Workshop template I cut out a section of the Gears paper and matted that with the reverse of the Unlocked paper (using the same template).  Another section of the wonderful Moments paper and the basis for my layout was done.

 

In cutting out the Gears template I left the watches at the bottom, rather than cut through them. This leaves them as a feature across the bottom of the page. I did eventually cut out the smallest watch and mount that onto some pop dots for dimension, but this was more to do with changing the angle it was on to better suit my layout than anything else.

 In the close-up, you can see I have tucked the edge of the photo under the watch. When you have a few layers to your layout, it helps to tie it all together if some of the layers tuck back under others – giving the design an integrated look.

The alphas were just some older ones I had lying about in my stash. To get the finish on them, I inked them with a Beige chalk ink and then applied some Kindyglitz and my heat gun until it all melted into a globular mess. The beige is now a golden colour with a hint of shimmer and only the odd sparkle here and there. It’s the type of subdued glimmer that looks ok on a male layout and which works with a grunge look.

The journalling was printed onto some transparency and then glued onto the white space section of the die cut paper. Having this space here for my journalling was the point to using the Gears paper as my die cut – otherwise it would have been just as easy to totally cut out the watch faces and pop them on by themselves.

One of the most useful papers in any Bo Bunny range is the Cut Outs paper. You can use them as a decorative element, a title or an embellishment. I’ve used one of the sayings/quotes/statements blocks to add in some pithy words of wisdom (you can’t have too many for the average teen page) and as a design element that allows me to hide the fact that I cut up the Twiddleybitz Gears Border chipboard piece.

It’s matted on a little of the leftover reverse of the Unlocked paper to give it a little extra pop and then mounted on pop dots to give me space to hide the cut ends of the cogs. It also hides the fact that I cut up the transparent cover of the Journal Pad and put that above and also below it.

 

The cogs are inked with several colours (a brown and a reddish brown) and then thickly coated with Walnut Stain Distress Stickle, which was helped to dry with my heat gun. This finish has a lovely texture and it looks rusty and grungy, even though it is glossy.

In this close-up you can see the cover of the Journal Pad and the rest of the cogs. Bo Bunny have increased the number of designs in this pad (and reduced the number of copies) and it is great value for money. Some of the designs are more decorative and others are obviously meant for journalling, but all of them are useful additions to a layout.

 

The design tip for this newsletter was a step-by-step of this layout, with an insight into how to use patterned papers for a layered page. Check out the Tips section of the Forum for my explanation of why and how I put this page together. For those interested in photography, I will also be putting in an article on some tips for taking teen photos and editing them using actions in Photoshop. The photos of my eldest son were altered using some free actions I found on the internet and I chose to give them a moody, grungy feel that I thought suited the paper range (and colours). I know they won’t be to everyone’s taste, but it’s nice to know you have options if you want them.

Some patterned paper ranges are timeless classics – able to be used again and again and for a wide range of concepts. Forget McCains – it is Bo Bunny who have yet again “done it again”. Timepiece is a must have collection, as suited to masculine layouts as it is to girly ones and absolutely perfect for family or generational photos. The last year or so has really seen this company produce some of the best scrapping ranges out there and you will not be disappointed with Timepiece.  Mary still has good stocks of most papers – so check them out in the store.

One Response

  1. Awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

