October Sketch

Ok – running a little late here with this one. Sorry.

I’m up for the sketch for this month at Ideal Papercraft. You can see the forum post here – all you have to do is use the sketch below to create something and post it up to the gallery.

As usual – most of the Sketch is pretty flexible and open to interpretation – you need only include the basic elements. I’ve only included the ‘frame’ aspects of the design into the Sketch – so feel free to add in whatever small details you wish.

Although I didn’t use journalling on my sample layout – the open space to the right of the photo would be ideal for some strip-style journalling.

And here is my sample layout. I’ve used the glorious new Kaisercraft Bonjour range – with its lovely spring pastel colours and very feminine motifs. The photo is one from a recent ‘girly day activities’ photo shoot in the back yard that Madame and I enjoyed over the school holidays. She’s growing up so fast – looking a right proper little lady here. Just wish it could slow down a bit so I could savour it.

I was lucky enough to spot Kaiser’s Bonjour range early enough for a concerted begging campaign to Mary to get it in for us all. Well ok – for me – but I am willing to share it with everyone else too. This is one of those soft, pretty ranges that are sooo much better in real life than what you see on a computer screen. It’s an interesting mix of colours too: black (more charcoal than true though), dark brown, several shades of pastel greens and blues and a soft fuzzy pink. All soft, pretty, girly colours – which is an unusual match to the sophisticated French theme the range is based on. Popular images include butterflies, the Eiffel Tower, postal marks, French words, hydrangeas and birds.

The Sketch layout for October was my first play with Bonjour. It’s funny, when I first saw the papers I thought ‘shabby chic’, but looking back now the majority of layouts I have done with it are not in that style at all. I think it has something to do with the darker colours – the black and browns – they tend to lend themselves to more linear, straight-edge style layouts. Free Spirit is very much a linear layout. I used the reverse side of Paris  (a gorgeous dark brown with a subtle pattern of black butterflies) as my base, contrasting this with a block of the pale green, patterned section of Mairie  (I cut out the clock/flowers bit to use elsewhere). The gorgeous pattern on the 12 x 12 version of Paris  (face side) is too big to show well in smaller pieces, so I used the Paper Pad version, off-setting this behind the photo. Although the crown pattern in the paper was nice, I wanted something a little more dramatic – so I popped one of the sticker butterflies from the 12 x 12 Icon Sticker sheet onto a sticker tag from the same sheet. This is all up on pop dots to give it some dimension and placed so that it hides the crown, but leaves the writing clear below it.

 

The main embellishment for the layout is this chippy Eiffel Tower by Dusty Attic. It has been inked silver and then given a thick coat of Crystalina Kindyglitz. To vary the ‘look’ a little, I dried it with my heat gun – so there is not a uniform glitter to it – giving it a slightly shabby chic look. To finish off the embellishment I added some rhinestones – these are actually some left-over from a partially used Kaiser flourish (Antique Rose) – but they are the same colour as those in the Jewels pack. The roses are Kaiser Blooms from my stash – I used some from the Fairy Floss, Olive and Sage packs.  The butterfly is from the 12 x 12 Icon Sticker sheet and the small tag is from the Paper Pad.

The title is a stunning chippy title from my stash (from Scrapping Outback – though I see it is oos now) that I thought really suited the photo (and the paper range) and it has been given the same treatment as the Eiffel Tower. A little bling to the wings with some more rhinestones and one of the new mini blooms from Kaiser and you have a gorgeous title in minutes. Too easy!!

The punched-strip design you see down either side of the layout is another of my ‘playing around’ sessions. After punching out a strip from the Moriesse paper, I trimmed through the pattern to leave me with the outside edge of the punch design. A light coat of Crystalina Kindyglitz and some rhinestones and you have a very pretty edge treatment. The darker strip you see there is one of the 12 x 12 paper edge trims – Provence. It’s very handy having these on the papers – great for when you need a thin strip here and there.

In my last techniques page in the forum I showed a double-edge punched strip as one of my examples. I’ve used it here (with a Kaiser sheet ribbon threaded through it) across the bottom of the layout. To finish it off I tied a bow in the ribbon and stuck a pearl pin (from the lovely Angelica and her Etsy store) through a Kaiser mini bloom and popped that on top of the bow. The delicate ribbon and bow helps to soften the dark base paper I used for the layout. It gives a girly touch to the straight formal design of the page. The stitching also helps with this, as well as guiding your eye along the layout to each of the embellishment foci.

This close-up gives you a better look at the double-edge punched strip and ribbon.  The possibilities with this technique are endless – limited only by the punch designs you own and your imagination (and of course your patience).

So there it is – the sketch for the month and the first of my Bonjour layouts. Stay tuned for more later in the week.

One Response

  1. How pretty…so well combined & laid out! I always look to you to give me sneak peeks at upcoming Kaisercraft releases…I’m loving thier paper lines. That photo is adorable & what a great job on using your punches in a whole new way! I’ll have to give that a shot!

Leave a Reply

