Newsletter – CI Wild Spirit – layout 3

Giddy Up – the final layout for the newsletter is, ironically, one of my attempts to use this range in a way that wasn’t playing to the theme so to speak. After focusing on the horse/barbed wire theme for 3 layouts, I really wanted to show how you could use this range for more general scrapping.

Looking at the papers and the way they are cut and layered here – you see very little of the barbed wire pattern and nothing to indicate they are a horse-themed range. I’ve used the reverse side of Wild Spirit (oos) for the base, with the ‘printed words’ central section of Ranch Life and the floral pattern reverse of Country Girl (oos) layered over that. A scrap piece of the reverse side of Country Girl (oos) was popped through an old Fiskars border punch to get that looped pattern along the top of the layout.

At this point we went off on our semi-annual holidays to Bundaberg (last July) and I came home with a set of pony ride photos that just screamed to be used on this layout. Sigh – so much for not catering to the theme. Then other ranges needed to be worked on and this layout was put to one side – unfinished. When I came back to it, I struggled to get all the photos on that I wanted to include – so at the last minute it became a double – which sadly was not finished for the newsletter, as I ran out of one of the papers needed to finish it. Since I had totally – in my fixation on getting the double done – forgotten the other 2 as-yet-unfinished layouts – I accidentally used up papers that were meant for them – so I had 3 unfinished pages in total and had to scramble to get 3 for the actual newsletter. Sigh – sometimes… So my apologies that there is only the left-hand side of the double here – I’ll post the other side up as soon as it is completed. (ok – I have added at the bottom now) 🙂

This is another of the barbed wire chipboard (oos) designs made to go with the Wild Spirit range. This little cutie is also an A2Z Scraplets design. It has actually been inked with about 4 different brown Colorbox chalk inks to get that mottled effect you can see on it.

I’m actually a little stunned – all of the chipboard I used for the newsletter layouts sold out within a week of the newsletter. I am so pleased that people out there like them enough to buy – and I would love to see what people do with them. It would be great if you could post to the forum gallery anything that you did using my barbed wire chippy.

The chipboard horseshoe was also inked with the 4 different brown inks and then I tied one of the silver horse charms from the store to it, using some old twine I coloured with my Weathered Wood Distress Ink.

My poor post-office man wonders a bit about me sometimes – I get very excited about parcels that come tied in string/twine (who on earth sends them that way anymore anyway??) and won’t let him cut through them to help me get into the parcels. I carefully unravel the knots and add the twine to my ‘fibres’ stash. It’s amazing how many types of string there are out there – and I am working on getting a sample of all them … lol. I am running out of the fine, delicate one though – so could people please use that to tie my parcels for a while…?

In the top left of the layout I placed a horse silhouette cut out from the gorgeous Wild Horses paper (this is such a beautiful paper – you really have to see it in real life to appreciate how ethereal and dreamy it is – it would make a gorgeous painting).

The chipboard horseshoe, the horse words you see here and the saddle are all part of a horse themed set of chipboard I found – just randomly browing around – after these photos of Madame were taken. They were too good a match to the photos not to use. I cannot for the life of me remember who made them – it might be 2Crafty or something like that. (Edited to add: yes it is 2Crafty, their Horse Riding pack -a great buy).

The barbed wire though, is yet another design created to use with this range. This one is a bit more masculine – thicker and chunkier – but a little Weathered Wood Distress Stickles soon pretties that up.

To get that distressed, weathered look to the chipboard saddle I inked it first with a mix of several browns and then applied a coat of Walnut Stain Distress Stickles. This was all then roughed over with some sandpaper until the distress crystals were all sanded back. Now I have a lovely textured look to it – but without the sparkly crystals. All very grungy, yet very pretty.

Down the right side of the layout I punched out a few holes and popped some eyelets into them, before threading some maroon leather lacing through to make a series of simple knots. This filled in some ‘empty space’ there and gave me a simple, but very effective embellishment.

I ran all of the chipboard words through my Cuttlebug – using what I think is a Tim Holtz Texture Fades design. I love the cool rustic pattern that they turned out with. A simple inking with Weathered Wood Distress Ink was all they needed after that – amazing how good they look with just the combination of texture and ink – and so simple to achieve too.

The full title is actually Giddy Up – but I cut the chipboard into half so I could use it on both sides of the double. From memory this is a Scrap FX title.

I love the CI Wild Spirit range – and not just because it provided me with the perfect papers with which to scrap my horse-mad daughter’s many equine vices. The depth and complexity of the paper designs are amazing – every time I look at them I notice something new to admire. This is one range that – absolutely – a computer screen does not do justice to. More importantly – for a small range (there are only 4 double-sided papers) ALL of them work perfectly together – unlike many other small ranges, where one or two simply don’t mesh well together.

I wish I could say the same for the stickers though – oddly (and I do have to confess that this is true of many of the CI ranges) some of the stickers have a greenish tint that is jarring with the blues in the range. Gorgeous stickers – but they just don’t ‘fit’ with the papers.

Updated:

So I managed to get the second side of this done at last. In the end I waited on this to be done before posting the double to the blog.

The second side has the same basic layout as the first, but some elements have been moved around as I hate it when they are perfect reflections of each other.

I’ve used the same cool chippy flourish – just placed it on the top left rather than at the bottom. In this close-up you can see just how well the Colorbox Brown Chalk Ink matches the papers.

Love these chippy boots – the texture fades pattern has given it a real western boots feel. Such a cool textural finish.

Another of the cut out horses from the Wild Horses paper.

I’ve used a large tag here as there was plenty to say about her experience. It’s hidden behind the main photo. I’ve left the front of the tag as just the pretty design on the patterned paper – with a silver horse shoe charm and twine as the only embellishment – and put my journalling on the back of the tag.

So that’s my double – record number of photos and all. I’m very pleased with how it came out and hopefully there will be more in the pipeline.

Don’t make the mistake of thinking you have to have horse photos to work with Wild Spirit – my favourite layout (of the 6 layouts I have done or almost done) – has no barbed wire or horses to be seen at all on it. Not one. It focuses on the butterflies, floral and print elements of the patterns. Hopefully that one can be shared with you all soon (I did post a sneak of it many months ago now here on my blog) – as it is intended for a future class. So check out Wild Spirit in the store, I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

