Kaiser – Sweet Nothings – Newsletter Layout 1

Sweet Nothings by Kaiser is a lovely, feminine range of papers and embellishments. Dominant colours include green, blue and peach – contrasting with soft creams and browns. Birds, cherubs and butterflies are the main images used in the paper designs, though lace also features in a number of places. The Collectibles die cuts, however, focus more on floral arrangements and cherubs – with the odd item here and there (the penny farthing bicycle is a strange choice for example, as is the hot air balloon) – though there are stamp die cuts, journalling tags and birds as well. 

Pressing family matters have kept me from scrapping for a number of months now – so two of these newsletter layouts have been languishing unfinished on my desk since last November. As a result, I’m not sure they have ended up the way I was thinking when I first planned them, but with pretty papers like these, it is hard to go wrong.

With Forever Missing You – I wanted to feature the stunning Dozen Roses paper – one of the prettiest papers in the range. Using one of my favourite template shapes, I trimmed it down and overlaid it on a piece of You and Me (reverse side).

When templating a patterned paper like this, I often leave untrimmed, parts of the pattern that are better left whole – so if you look at the bottom of the page, the large flower has been left untrimmed and has not been cut to ‘keep’ the templated shape. I’ve left a fair bit of the base patterned paper alone on this layout too – it’s just too pretty to cover up.

In the top left-hand corner I used this bronze embellishment from my stash. Made to match the layout – the bronze word is the first word in the title. With soft, vintage style papers like these, I find that bronze is a better embellishment colour to use than silver or gold. This little cluster has been made from a metal word strip, a filigree shape and a bird charm on a chain – matched with a small rose and pearl dangle. It tucks neatly in the corner to fill the empty space and is both pretty and delicate.

The alphas for the rest of the title are Scrapware Lowercase Antique Alphas and to embellish them I kept it very simple. In keeping with the shabby, vintage look, they have just been roughly swiped with a brown ink pad to match the brown paper around the outside of the layout. The varying depth of colour across the chipboard letters gives them a shabby, distressed look, in keeping with the rest of the layout style.

 

Tucked behind the top of Madame’s photo is the journalling tag. One of several floral clusters adorns the top of the tag. I’ve used a mix of ‘oddment’ flowers – some have been pulled out of a larger spray of identical flowers; one is a Kaiser Bloom (Sunset), the dark brown one is a Cherry Blossom (IamRoses) and there are some small, no-brand roses. I’ve overlaid them on half a bronze filigree flower – cut in half like this, the petals look like leaves – and this provides a pretty, romantic base for the flowers. The resin bird and brown seam binding ribbon are also from my stash.

m

I’m loving Kaiser’s stamps at the moment. Two that match this range well are used on my layouts this week. This one is ‘Postmarks’ – and I have stamped it at the bottom of the layout to the right and just below the photo. Over it I popped a Dusty Attic Eiffel Tower – which has been roughly inked in the same colour as the stamp. The embellishment cluster on the Eiffel Tower includes the same flowers as before – but this time I added a custom bronze and pearl pin, a Die Cut Dove from the Collectibles pack and several small bronze charms (passport; small globe and a compass) have been ‘tied’ to the chipboard with a section of bronze chain.

The butterfly you can see is from the brown Rubons pack for the collection. Kaiser have had some issues with rubons over the past year and I was hoping for more success with these “new and improved” rubons. Sadly – the brown pack seems to take the original problem (they came off onto the protective paper before use) and moved it to the other extreme. I found it VERY difficult to get the brown rubons to transfer at all. Back to the drawing board Kaiser.

The reason for the choice in charms, is that this layout is about how miserable my little poppet gets when her ‘favourite’ brother goes away. He’s been overseas twice in the past 12 months or so (France and Italy the first time – hence the Eiffel Tower) and she takes his absence very seriously – moping about until he comes home. Throughout most of last December he was away in Vietnam and Cambodia – and I happened to catch sight of her out on the backyard swings during the school holidays – her woebegone, lost little face broke my heart.

The large flower (with butterfly) is part of the patterned paper. I’ve simply cut out one edge of it so that the photo can be slipped in underneath. The flower cluster next to it has more of the flowers used elsewhere, as well as an olive resin flower from the Kaiser Resin BlossomPansy collection. The other half of the filigree flower is also there, along with a bronze frame that I used with an old Webster’s Pages resin cameo. The bird is part of a die cut from the Collectibles pack – I trimmed it off and used it here and the rest of the die cut on a different layout.

 So that’s the first of the Sweet Nothings layouts for this week. It really is a lovely collection to use. For some strange reason I’ve not seen much about online using the range (even months now after its release) – and even less, that in my opinion, does justice to it.  So grab some from TPC whilst Mary still has it in stock and have some fun with it yourself.

One Response

  1. Glad to see you’re back and that things have gotten better for you. Beautiful work as always…soft, sweet & delicate.

    Hugs…Kay

Leave a Reply

