April Sketch (Kaiser ‘Sweet Nothings’)

I know it’s a little late to the blog – but better late than never. Check out here for this month’s sketch competition for Ideal Papercraft – upload your entry into the gallery by the end of the month to be in with a chance at a selection from the Prize Cupboard.

 As I was on a bit of a roll with the Newsletter layouts, my example sketch layout this month – Almost 7 – also uses Kaiser’s Sweet Nothings range – this time I’ve used Memories, the Die Cut paper. I really like the middle section of the pattern, but will confess to not being overly enthused with the blue lace trim. A little is nice – but it goes a long way – as it is sort of inspid looking. The obvious answer then is to cover up large chunks of it and to provide a contrasting colour – which is what I have done. The bits of blue/cream that show through are delicate and pretty and contrast nicely with the chocolate tones of the underlying paper You & Me, and the chipboard.

With only two different patterned papers used on the layout, I had to resort to plenty of embellishments to provide the interest and texture. I started with a die cut birdcage from the Collectibles pack (oos). Under this I tucked a couple of hand cut roses – which I got from the trimmed out middle section of the You & Me paper. When using one paper to frame another, I often cut out the middle of that paper – saves wasting it where no-one sees it. This time I got enough to use one section underneath the photo (it’s offset – you can see it above and below the photo) and the rest I trimmed the roses and rose leaves from.

Above the roses is this stunning Antique Bronze clock/cogs charm and a small section of floral sticker trim from the 12 x 12 sticker sheet. I’ve used about 2/3’s of the floral trim – cut up into small pieces – here and there around the layout. It matches the flowers on the birdcage die cut and is the same blue as the paper lace pattern.

Also tucked under the die cut birdcage is a section from a chipboard clock face. I’m not sure whose it is – but it is gorgeous. I will have to look up who it belongs to, because I want some more (Edited to add – It’s by Twiddleybitz – the Roman Clock Face Small). I’ve inked it a dark brown (Colorbox Chalk InkBrown) and then spiced it up a little with some Crystallina Kindyglitz which has been dried with my heat gun.

There is also a little more of the floral sticker and I have used my (currently anyway) favourite stamp – Botanical (oos) – which has been stamped onto a section of acetate. This has been cut up to give me three smaller sections, which I have popped here and there under/around the chipboard clock.

The journalling is hidden away on this tag – and comments on where Madame is at just prior to her 7th birthday. It’s mostly a list of her current ‘favourites’ and some thoughts on life in general. The tag has been made from one of the papers in the 6.5 x 6.5 Paper Pad (it has a music score on it) and is embellished with a brown cherry blossom (IamRoses), a small section of the floral sticker, some rose leaves cut from the You & Me paper and a short length of white twine.  

Along the right-hand side of the layout I have punched 3 holes and tied some white twine through them into a bow. Decorating this is another brown cherry blossom (IamRoses), a gorgeous little blue pearl and butterfly charm stickpin and an Antique Bronze heart and key charm set.

The bottom right corner of the photo has an embellishment cluster made up of half a chipboard flourish (same treatment as the clock face), another brown cherry blossom (IamRoses), a pretty blue Prima rose (Champagne Rose – Chardonnay), a resin blossom from Kaiser (Pansy collection), more floral sticker (12 x 12 sticker sheet) and several cut out roses from the You & Me paper.

Underneath is the Botanical stamp (oos) again – this time stamped directly onto the patterned paper. The section of music score you see to the left has been hand cut from the paper in the 6.5 x 6.5 Paper Pad that I made the tag from.

On the left-hand side of the layout is the rest of the chipboard flourish and pretty much a similar collection of embellishment bits and bobs. This time though I added in this gorgeous little Antique Bronze bee/watch charm.

Finishing off the cluster is the rest of the chipboard clockface and this sweet little decorated filigree. The usual suspects are there (the Kaiser resin blossom, Prima rose and hand cut paper rose leaves) with the addition of a cute little heart charm and a blue pearl.

So there it is – my April Sketch layout – using Kaiser’s Sweet Nothings. I’m really happy with the way it turned out – it’s so nice to get back to scrapping after such a long absence. I did wonder if I had ‘lost it’ somewhere – so being happy with this layout is such a bonus.

You have to be in it to win it – so have a go at this month’s sketch competition at Ideal Papercraft.

Leave a Reply

