Kaiser – Sweet Nothings – Newsletter Layout 3

The final layout for this week is Dance. Cupid’s Arrow (oos) is the base paper for this layout and I love the soft grey-blue pattern on it. The corner floral pattern is, of course, the feature of this patterned paper and I have designed my layout to focus on that section of the paper. I used a section of the reverse side of Devoted to mat under the photo, as it matches the colour of the blossoms. To complement and mirror the blossoms on the right of the photo – I used the large blossom from the 12 x 12 Sticker Sheet on the left of the photo. To bring out the brown tones a little more, I inked the edges of the papers with brown ink and used the same ink for the stamping.

I’ve used the Botanical stamp (oos) here again – this time using it as ‘partial’ images. You can easily achieve this look by only inking desired sections of the stamp before stamping. This way you can use the same stamp to produce many different ‘looks’.

More Scrapware Lowercase Antique Alphas and again they are simply embellished. This time I used a solid coat of the same brown ink to give the alphas a dark coat of colour and then I lightly and randomly sprayed Choc-coated Cherries Glimmermist (oos) over them. This gives a subdued glimmer to the letters and is not too intrusive on the rest of the layout.

Again, I cut the edge of the patterned paper blossom to allow me to tuck under it a leaf I cut out of the Devoted paper and the edge of the Devoted mat. More than any other reason, I needed the leaf to provide some contrast between the similarly coloured blossom and paper mat – but it did also look very nice there with the blossom.

The small butterflies are from the Sweet Nothings Colour Rubons and these transferred much more easily than the brown rubons on the previous layout. In all – I found the colour rubons much easier to use than the brown ones and a great improvement on Kaiser’s recent rubon batches.

The alpha stickers are old ones from my stash – Adorn-it Tiny Blue by Carolees Creations. Of all the tiny sticker alphas – these are the ones I find the most versatile and they are my ‘reach for’ tiny alpha stickers of choice.

The Forum Technique Tip for this week is this embellished dress form (Dusty Attic – oos). Check out the forum for my instructions on how to make this whimsical fashion fancy. It doesn’t take much work and looks stunning on any ‘girly’ layout.

To make it, you need some netting and assorted ‘pretty’ things. I’ve used a filigree butterfly, some small charms (butterfly and key ring) on a length of chain, a flower, a resin flower from the Kaiser Resin BlossomDahlia collection, some seam binding ribbon and a pearl and butterfly charm pin made specifically for the layout.

The dress form has been popped through a frame from the Collectibles Pack (oos) – which I cut out the middle of so that the dress form could be put through it. The flower/leaves on either side of the dress from are cut from the Devoted patterned paper. The rubon border is from the Brown Rubons pack (oos) from the Sweet Nothings collection.

The final embellishment on the page is yet another, made-to-match bronze filigree cluster from my stash. Adorning the bronze filigree piece are some small leaves, another resin flower from the Kaiser Resin BlossomDahlia pack, a butterfly charm and a pearl dangle.

The small Kindyglitzed blossoms are also cut out from the Devoted patterned paper.

 Kaiser does their pretty, feminine, vintage themed collections very well and Sweet Nothings is certainly no exception to this generalisation. Whether you fill the page with flower clusters and other embellishments, or leave the paper patterns to shine for themselves, you will be pleased with the result. I’ve enjoyed working with this range and I am sure you will too – so check it out in the store.

Leave a Reply

