MFT – Die-namics – Lace Doily die

On the last layout I used some new MFT Die-namics dies that I bought from Michelle at The Stamp Spot.  She has a huge range of stamps and MFT dies (amongst her other products) and she is my go-to lady whenever I want something like this.

Most of the people I see using these dies are card-makers – and I have to confess that these doily dies are the pefect way to showcase the stunning copic work that many stampers go in for these days. I’m neither a card maker nor a copic user – so as a 12 x 12 scrapper I need to make these dies work for me in other ways.

And work they do – they are just perfect for making pretty and interesting patterned paper elements on my page. Here, I’ve used a combination of 2 die sets to give me 3 matching doilies of different sizes.  In the close-ups above and below – I have used 2 different sizes overlaid on one another to provide a decorative interest for the layout. I’ve tucked the doilies under the photo edge and clustered other embellishments over them to partially obscure the doily. This way they provide a pretty, lacy frame around all the embellishments.

You can also use a single doily on its own to great effect – like I have done below. If you vary the colours and patterns you use, you can achieve some gorgeous effects.

 Sadly, the two dies I used on this layout – Dainty Doily Duo and Dainty Lace Doily – are both currently out of stock, but Michelle re-stocks on a regular basis, so keep an eye out for them when they come back in. More importantly – she has a huge range of these dies – so check out what she has and add them to your wish list. She currently has a huge range of Spellbinder dies as well and I’ve also heard that she is shortly going to be stocking Cheery Lynn dies too.

 

2 Responses

  1. This is so lovely 🙂 I really like how you layered the diecuts from different sets to create a gorgeous embellishment.

  2. this is stunning! I adore the colours you have used, and i have the duo set myself, one of my favourites! TFS xo

Leave a Reply

